2017 NatWest OSCA winners announced

Gloucestershire Cricket Board's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Seven of the Gloucestershire’s unsung cricketing heroes will be honoured at Lord’s after winning NatWest OSCAs (Outstanding Services to Cricket Awards).

The volunteers – who come from a range of clubs, leagues and boards – have been recognised for the tireless dedication to the grass roots game.

They were chosen by a Gloucestershire Cricket Board (GCB) judging panel following a record number of nominations.

All seven winners have been invited to a star-studded awards ceremony at the Home of Cricket on October 9. They will also be guests of honour at a Gloucestershire Cricket home match in 2018.

One of the seven, Young Volunteer winner Stefan Hunt from Cheltenham CC, has also been shortlisted in the top three for the national award , with the winner due to be announced during the event at Lord’s.

GCB chief executive Steve Silk said: “

The NatWest OSCAs are a wonderful way to celebrate the unsung heroes whose work often goes unnoticed but without whom the grass roots game simply would not survive.

“It was fantastic to have so many entries this year, highlighting the large number of deserving people we have in Gloucestershire that go the extra mile for their club, league, board or organisation.

- Steve Silk

It is vitally important to celebrate the work of our volunteers and I would urge more clubs to nominate people and recognise them in their own ways. Every nomination we received this year was hugely deserving of recognition but our seven winners stood out to our judging panel.

“We hope they have a day to remember at Lord’s and look forward to welcoming them as our guests to our own Gloucestershire celebration event next year.”


For details of the winners please see below*.

Sarah Probert (Bristol CC) – Heartbeat of the Club

Richard Deane (Chipping Sodbury CC) – Get The Game On

Chris Strong (BDCA) – Leagues

John Gurney (Dymock CC) – Lifetime Achiever

Brian Woodcock (Cirencester CC) – NatWest CricketForce

Peter Sawyer (GACUS) – Officiating – Umpires and Scorers

Stefan Hunt (Cheltenham CC) – Young Volunteer

*We will providing full details on each individual winner in separate posts over the next week.

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.


Post new comment

8 + 4 =

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.