ACHE Announces 2016 Publishing Awards

ACHE's picture

CHICAGO, January 28, 2016—The American College of Healthcare Executives announced the winners of its 2016 Publishing Awards: the James A. Hamilton Book of the Year Award and the Dean Conley and Edgar C. Hayhow awards for outstanding articles. The awards, each given annually, will be presented during ACHE's 59th Congress on Healthcare Leadership in Chicago March 14–17.

Jon Burroughs, MD, FACHE, FACPE, is the winner of the 2016 James A. Hamilton Book of the Year Award for Redesign the Medical Staff Model: A Guide to Collaborative Change (Health Administration Press, 2015). In his book, Burroughs outlines key changes that must be made to redesign the medical staff model. He provides specific guidance and examples to guide healthcare leaders and executives in their work with physician leaders as they seek to successfully confront these changes. Burroughs presents an in-depth look into the evolution of the physician culture from autonomy to collaboration and accountability; selecting strategy medical staff development planning; components of an effective performance management system; ways to effectively assess medical staff performance and collaborate with physicians on opportunities for improvement; negotiation of performance expectations; and best practices for physician engagement and alignment.

Burroughs is president and CEO of The Burroughs Healthcare Consulting Network in Glen, N.H.

The winner of the 2016 Dean Conley Award is Scott A. Mason, DPA, FACHE, for his article "Retail and Real Estate: The Changing Landscape of Care Delivery," published in the Spring 2015 issue of Frontiers of Health Services Management. The article examines the link between retail medicine and real estate and the dramatic expansion of the retail approach to medicine in a short period of time. The article considers whether the increasing practice of integrating healthcare services into retail real estate will take on the same level of importance for nonretail healthcare providers as it has for their retail counterparts. Mason identifies the primary commonality between retail and healthcare: the need to meet the increasing demands of consumers in an experience-based economy where consumers often make healthcare purchasing decisions based on how well these products and services line up with their lifestyles.

Mason is the principal, EGC Management Consultants, Arlington, Va.

The winners of the 2016 Edgar C. Hayhow Award are Milton E. Hammerly, MD, Larry Harmon, PhD, and Steven D. Schwaitzberg, MD, for their article "Good to Great: Using 360-Degree Feedback to Improve Physician Emotional Intelligence," published in the September/October 2014 issue of the Journal of Healthcare Management. On the basis of a literature review, Hammerly, Harmon and Schwaitzberg deduced that a physician's emotional intelligence plays a vital role in leadership; teamwork; and clinical, financial and organizational outcomes. The duo used 360-degree anonymous feedback surveys to screen for the physician competence improvement opportunities in professionalism and interpersonal/communication skills. Their findings have significant implications for healthcare executives looking to enhance physician alignment and transition to a team-based delivery mode.

The James A. Hamilton Award is given to the author(s) of a management or healthcare book judged outstanding by ACHE's Book of the Year Award Committee. The award is underwritten by the Alumni Association of the Graduate Program in Healthcare Administration of the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, in honor of the late James A. Hamilton, FACHE, the program's founder and course director from 1946 to 1966 and ACHE's 1939–1940 chairman.

The Dean Conley Award, named for ACHE's executive director from 1942–1965, is granted annually to recognize the contributions made to healthcare management literature and to encourage healthcare executives to write and publish articles. This year's winning article was selected by ACHE's Article of the Year Awards Committee.

The Edgar C. Hayhow Award is given to the author(s) of an article judged the best from among those published in the Journal of Healthcare Management, ACHE's official journal. Named in honor of ACHE's 14th Chairman, Edgar C. Hayhow, the first practicing administrator to earn a doctoral degree, the award recognizes outstanding contributions to healthcare management literature. The winning article was selected by ACHE's Article of the Year Awards Committee.

About the American College of Healthcare Executives
The American College of Healthcare Executives is an international professional society of 40,000 healthcare executives who lead hospitals, healthcare systems and other healthcare organizations. ACHE's mission is to advance its members and healthcare management excellence. ACHE offers its prestigious FACHE® credential, signifying board certification in healthcare management. ACHE's established network of 80 chapters provides access to networking, education and career development at the local level. In addition, ACHE is known for its magazine, Healthcare Executive, and its career development and public policy programs. Through such efforts, ACHE works toward its vision of being the preeminent professional society for healthcare executives dedicated to improving health. The Foundation of the American College of Healthcare Executives was established to further advance healthcare management excellence through education and research. The Foundation of ACHE is known for its educational programs—including the annual Congress on Healthcare Leadership, which draws more than 4,000 participants—and groundbreaking research. Its publishing division, Health Administration Press, is one of the largest publishers of books and journals on health services management, including textbooks for college and university courses.

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.


Post new comment

6 + 13 =

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.