ACHE Announces 2018 Publishing Awards

ACHE's picture

CHICAGO, February 9, 2018—The American College of Healthcare Executives announced the winners of its 2018 Publishing Awards: the James A. Hamilton Book of the Year Award and the Dean Conley and Edgar C. Hayhow awards for outstanding articles. The awards, each given annually, will be presented during ACHE's 61st Congress on Healthcare Leadership in Chicago March 26–29.

Mary Koloroutis, RN, and David Abelson, MD, are the winners of the 2018 James A. Hamilton Book of the Year Award for Advancing Relationship-Based Cultures (Creative Health Care Management, 2017). In this book, Koloroutis and Abelson explain and expand on a fundamental and often overlooked truth in healthcare: It is the confluence of relational and clinical competence that advances relationship-based healing cultures. A relationship-based culture is one in which a critical mass of people provides care and service with relational competence.

Koloroutis is CEO, Creative Health Care Management in Minneapolis. Abelson is president of Institute for Clinical Systems Improvement in Bloomington, Minn.

The winner of the 2018 Dean Conley Award is Jason A. Wolf, PhD, for his article "Patient Experience: The New Heart of Healthcare Leadership," published in the spring 2017 issue of Frontiers of Health Services Management. The article explores how to reframe the conversation on patient experience, moving it from an idea that lurks at the edges of healthcare, or that stands as just one of many strategic pillars, to the central call to action for healthcare leaders.

Wolf is president, The Beryl Institute in Southlake, Texas.

The winners of the 2018 Edgar C. Hayhow Award are Janice L. Dreachslin, PhD; Robert Weech-Maldonado, PhD; Judith Gail, Josué Patien Epané, PhD; and Joyce Anne Wainio, for their article "Blueprint for Sustainable Change in Diversity Management and Cultural Competence: Lessons From the National Center for Healthcare Leadership Diversity Demonstration Project" published in the May/June 2017 issue of the Journal of Healthcare Management. The study assessed different action plans used to improve diversity and cultural competence practices and build a sustainable infrastructure.

The James A. Hamilton Award is given to the author(s) of a management or healthcare book judged outstanding by ACHE's Book of the Year Award Committee. The award is underwritten by the Alumni Association of the Graduate Program in Healthcare Administration of the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, in honor of the late James A. Hamilton, FACHE, the program's founder and course director from 1946 to 1966 and ACHE's 1939–1940 chairman.

The Dean Conley Award, named for ACHE's executive director from 1942–1965, is granted annually to recognize the contributions made to healthcare management literature and to encourage healthcare executives to write and publish articles. This year's winning article was selected by ACHE's Article of the Year Awards Committee.

The Edgar C. Hayhow Award is given to the author(s) of an article judged the best from among those published in the Journal of Healthcare Management, ACHE's official journal. Named in honor of ACHE's 14th Chairman, Edgar C. Hayhow, the first practicing administrator to earn a doctoral degree, the award recognizes outstanding contributions to healthcare management literature. The winning article was selected by ACHE's Article of the Year Awards Committee.

About the American College of Healthcare Executives

The American College of Healthcare Executivesis an international professional society of 40,000 healthcare executives who lead hospitals, healthcare systems and other healthcare organizations. ACHE’s mission is to advance our members and healthcare management excellence. ACHE offers its prestigious FACHE® credential, signifying board certification in healthcare management. ACHE's established network of 78 chapters provides access to networking, education and career development at the local level. In addition, ACHE is known for its magazine, Healthcare Executive, and its career development and public policy programs. Through such efforts, ACHE works toward its vision of being the preeminent professional society for leaders dedicated to improving health. The Foundation of the American College of Healthcare Executives was established to further advance healthcare management excellence through education and research. The Foundation of ACHE is known for its educational programs—including the annual Congress on Healthcare Leadership, which draws more than 4,000 participants—and groundbreaking research. Its publishing division, Health Administration Press, is one of the largest publishers of books and journals on health services management including textbooks for college and university courses.

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.