ADVISORY: Experts to Discuss U.S. Diplomacy with Adversaries

American Progress's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly versionPDF versionPDF version

Contact: Anne Shoup
Phone: 202.481.7146
Email: ashoup@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — On Tuesday, February 25, the Center for American Progress will host a discussion marking the release of Dancing with the Devil: The Perils of Engaging Rogue Regimes, a new book by AEI resident scholar Michael Rubin. In the book, Rubin argues that there are significant risks to the U.S. engaging in diplomacy with countries such as Iran and North Korea and groups such as the Taliban in Afghanistan and Hezbollah.

The discussion will feature Charles Kupchan, Georgetown University professor and Council on Foreign Relations senior fellow, and author of the 2012 book, How Enemies Become Friends: The Sources of Stable Peace. In Kupchan’s book, he argues that engaging in diplomacy with adversaries is essential for enhancing global stability and order.

The discussion is the continuation of a series of joint conversations by CAP and AEI examining major national security issues in the coming years.

WHO:

Panelists:
Michael Rubin, Resident Scholar, American Enterprise Institute
Charles Kupchan, Professor of International Affairs, Georgetown University; Senior Fellow, Council on Foreign Relations; Senior Fellow, Transatlantic Academy

Moderator:
Brian Katulis, Senior Fellow, Center for American Progress

WHEN:

Tuesday, February 25, 2014

12:00 p.m. EST – 1:30 p.m. EST
A light lunch will be served at 11:30 a.m.

WHERE:

Center for American Progress

1333 H St. NW, 10th Floor

Washington, D.C. 20005

RSVP:

RSVP for this event

For more information, contact Anne Shoup at ashoup@americanprogress.org or at 202.481.7146.

###

 

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)


202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)


202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)


202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)


202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi


202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton


202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene


202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

News Source : ADVISORY: Experts to Discuss U.S. Diplomacy with Adversaries

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.