ADVISORY: The Hon. Seiji Maehara’s to Give Remarks on Japan’s Foreign and Economic Policies

American Progress's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly versionPDF versionPDF version

Contact: Anne Shoup
Phone: 202.481.7146
Email: ashoup@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — On Wednesday, March 12, the Sasakawa Peace Foundation USA and the Center for American Progress will host a discussion and remarks from the Honorable Seiji Maehara. Mr. Maehara, who has been a member of the House of Representatives of Japan since 1993, was the leader of the Democratic Party of Japan from 2005 to 2006 and later served as Minister of Foreign Affairs and as Minister of Land, Transportation and Infrastructure under the cabinets of Naoto Kan and Yukio Hatoyama.

Mr. Maehara’s remarks will focus on Japan’s relationship with Korea and China, U.S.-Japan security cooperation, and Abenomics.

WHO:

Welcoming remarks:
Rudy deLeon, Senior Vice President, National Security and International Policy, Center for American Progress
Daniel Bob, Senior Fellow and Senior Director for U.S.-Japan Programs, SPFUSA

Introduction:
Glen Fukushima, Senior Fellow, Center for American Progress

Keynote remarks:
Honorable Seiji Maehara, Member of the House of Representatives of Japan

WHEN:

Wednesday, March 12, 2014

3:00 p.m. EST – 4:30 p.m. EST

WHERE:

Center for American Progress

1333 H St. NW, 10th Floor

Washington, D.C. 20005

RSVP:

RSVP for this event

For more information, contact Anne Shoup at ashoup@americanprogress.org or 202.481.7146.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)


202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)


202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)


202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)


202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi


202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton


202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene


202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

News Source : ADVISORY: The Hon. Seiji Maehara’s to Give Remarks on Japan’s Foreign and Economic Policies

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.