All-University Excellence in Diversity Awards honors champions for diversity and inclusion

Michigan State University's picture

Contact(s): Audrey Bentley Office for Inclusion and Intercultural Initiatives office: (517) 432-8384

MSU students, faculty and staff members who have led and supported diversity and inclusion efforts on campus and beyond were recognized during the 2018 All-University Excellence in Diversity Awards on Feb. 1.

The honorees included:

Individual Award, Emerging Progress

  • Hilda Mejia Abreu, assistant dean, College of Veterinary Medicine
  • Demetrice Jordan, doctoral student, environmental science and policy, and geography, environment and spatial science, College of Social ScienceĀ 
  • Carina Mendoza, medical student, College of Human Medicine
  • Gerena Walker, senior, James Madison College

Individual Award, Sustained Effort Toward Excellence in Diversity

  • Florene McGlothian-Taylor, MSU Police Department

Individual Award, Lifetime Achievement

  • Kent D. Workman, academic specialist-advisor, Lyman Briggs College

Individual Award, Advancing Global Competency: Excellent Performance in Research and Teaching

  • Michael Largey, professor, College of Music

Unit Award, Excellent Progress Toward Diversity Collaboration

  • Diversity Programs Office, College of Engineering
  • Honors College

Student participants of the following programs were also acknowledged during the event:

In its 28th year, the All-University Excellence in Diversity awards is organized by the Office for Inclusion and Intercultural Initiatives.

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.


Post new comment

1 + 0 =

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.