American Cancer Society Welcomes Seven New Members and Newly-Elected Officers to Board of Directors

American Cancer Society's picture

ATLANTA, Dec. 11, 2017 / -USNewswire/ -- The American Cancer Society Board of Directors has elected seven new members, and announced new key officer leadership positions for 2018. Their term begins on Jan. 1, 2018.

American Cancer Society Logo (PRNewsfoto/American Cancer Society)

"We welcome our new members that bring unique perspectives and expertise to our outstanding Board," said Kevin J. Cullen, MD, 2018 chair of the Board. "The extensive talent and knowledge of our existing and newly elected Board members is critical to helping the American Cancer Society continue its mission to lead the fight for a world without cancer by attacking cancer from every angle."

The American Cancer Society Board of Directors consists of 21 members, which includes five officers and 16 directors.

Newly elected members include:

  • Joseph A. Agresta, Jr., Englewood, NJ: Mr. Agresta is the president of Benzel-Busch Motor Car Corporation, one of the largest Mercedes-Benz retail centers in the United States. He currently serves on the Laureus Sport for Good Foundation USA Board of Directors, the Englewood Economic Development Corporation Board of Trustees, and the Elisabeth Morrow School Board of Trustees. He brings in-depth knowledge of strategic planning, marketing and communications, turn arounds and digital/social presence to the American Cancer Society Board of Directors.

  • Bruce N. Barron, Chicago, IL: Mr. Barron is a partner and co-founder of Origin Ventures, an early stage technology focused venture capital firm. He is a member of the Boards of Directors of DialogTech, the Illinois Venture Capital Association, the Chicago Baseball Cancer Charities, and the Chicago chapter Board and International Board of the Israel Cancer Research Fund. Mr. Barron has been involved with the management of several start-up medical technology companies, including Applied NeuroSolutions, Inc.

  • Edward J. Benz, Jr., MD, FACP, Boston, MA: Dr. Benz is president and chief executive officer emeritus of the Dana-Faber Cancer Institute, chief executive director emeritus of Dana-Faber/Partners Cancer Care, director and principal investigator emeritus of the Dana-Faber/Brigham and Women's Cancer Center. Dr. Benz is a clinically active internist with special expertise in inherited anemias and diseases of the red cell and is a Fellow of the American College of Physicians.

  • Nancy L. Birdwell, Albany, TX: Ms. Birdwell recently retired as the executive vice president and chief executive officer of the Scott & White Healthcare Foundation. She is an Honoree of the International Who's Who of Professional and Business Women, and, in 2012, received the Woman of Distinction Award by the Girl Scouts of Central Texas and the Gerry Gunnin Professional Achievement Award given by the Association of Healthcare Philanthropy Rockies and Southwest Regions.

  • Jennifer R. Crozier, Armonk, NY: Ms. Crozier is president of the IBM Foundation and Vice President of IBM Corporate Citizenship. She oversees the company's contributions of technology and expertise to help governments, nonprofits, and communities address global health disparities, prepare young people for 21st century jobs, and rebuild in the wake of natural disasters. Ms. Crozier pioneered the Corporate Service Corps, IBM's version of the Peace Corps. She serves on the board of the GCE-US and the Citizens Budget Commission of NYC.

  • Michael T. Marquardt, Greenville, DE: Mr. Marquardt is the chief executive officer of Global Kompass Strategies, Inc. He is a global advisor to corporations in the United States, Europe and Asia, working closely with chief executives and senior leadership teams on business development, cybersecurity and strategic planning. Mr. Marquardt also advises boards of directors and audit committees on effective risk management measures, corporate governance, geographic expansion, and emerging digital technology issues. He served as chair of the former South Atlantic Division Board, received the Society's St. George National Award in 2017, and has served on the American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network's Board of Directors since 2014.

  • Gary S. Shedlin, New York, NY: Mr. Shedlin is the senior managing director and chief financial officer of BlackRock and a member of its Global Executive Committee. Prior to joining BlackRock, Mr. Shedlin worked at Morgan Stanley, Citi and Lazard where he focused on providing strategic advice to a broad array of banks, finance, asset management and brokerage clients.

"We would like to thank our outgoing Board members F. Daniel Armstrong, PhD, Chau Dang, MS, Lewis E. Foxhall, MD, John W. Hamilton, DDS, and Susan D. Henry, LCSW for all of their dedication and support," said Arnold M. Baskies, MD, FACS, 2017 chair of the Board. "Their Board terms conclude in December, and we look forward to their continued engagement with the American Cancer Society in other leadership roles."

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.


Post new comment

1 + 12 =

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.