Another 17 national titles awarded on penultimate day of Masters Track Nationals

USA Cycling's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

More scratch races and points races were held on day five in Redmond. Photo by Tim Chandonnet.

Redmond, Wash. (August 23, 2014) –Individual competition wrapped up at the 2014 USA Cycling Masters Track National Championships on Saturday with the final individual pursuits, time trials, scratch races, points races, and sprints. Best All-Around Riders were also named on Saturday. Those winners can be found here.

Individual Pursuits

Dean Phillips (Wenham, Mass./Fit Werx) won the men's 35-39 individual pursuit when he bested Kevin Schiller (San Diego, Clif.). In the women's 40-44 contest, Catherine Moore (Waco, Texas/Guru Cycles p/b Haute Wheels Racing) rode her way to the top of the podium ahead of Lana Atchley (Huntington Beach, Calif./Fred Meyer Cycling Team).  Gerald Agnew (Rancho Palos Verdes, Calif./ironfly) was the individual pursuit winner among men 65-69 after he beat out silver medalist Jack Kelso (Pleasanton, Calif./Hammer Nutrition).

Time Trials


Women 40-44 individual pursuit podium. Photo by Tim Chandonnet.

Patricia Riddle (La Jolla, Calif./Eddie B Cycling) time trialed her way to a Stars-and-Stripes jersey when she posted a time of 45.051 over the 500 meters. She bested Ruth Gustafson (Edmonds, Wa./Team Group Health). Patricia Baker (Laguna Hills, Calif./San Diego Cyclo Vets) took the win for women 75-79 and Bonnie Woodbury (Scondido, Calif./Eddie B Cycling) got the national title for women 70-74. Among women 60-64, it was Jane Rinard (Brazen Dropouts) who was victorious with her time of 43.129 compared to the 43.627 posted by runner-up Jan Palchikoff (Los Angeles, Calif./Velo Club LaGrange). Elizabeth Heller (St. Louis, Mo./Quantum Mesa Cycles) climbed onto the top of the podium for women 55-59 when she bested Mary Ann Levenson (Menlo Park, Calif./B4T9 Women's Cycling Team) with her time of 42.245. For men 50-54, it was Thomas Donohue (Seattle, Wash./Seattle Super Squadra) to take the win ahead of Alphonso Whaley (Houston, Texas/Southern Elite).

Scratch Races


Men 50-54 time trial podium. Photo by Tim Chandonnet.

In the men's 40-44 scratch race, Joseph LaCour (Mansfield, Texas/Colavita Racing Inc.) earned the national title ahead of Benjamin Sharp (Boulder, Colo./Stages Cycling).  Jenn Triplett (Boulder, Colo./Boulder Orthopedics) took another national title when she bested Alexandra McKay (Seattle, Wash./SCCA-Starbucks Cycling) in the women's 35-39 scratch race.

Points Races

Michael Birditt (Escondido, Calif./SKLZ-Swami's Cycling Team) found himself on top of the podium again on Saturday night when he won the men's 60-64 points race. He claimed victory by only one point however, scoring a total of 12 compared to the 11 accumulated by runner-up Lionel Space (Phoenix, Ariz.). In the women's 50-54 event, Annette Williams (Kenmore, Wash./Kenmore Velo) continued to dominate the age group with another win. With 25 points, she bested silver medalist Beverly Chaney (Carmel, Calif./San Jose Bicycle Club). In the final points race of the night, Lawrence Nolan (Fremont, Calif./Team Specialized Racing) was victorious. Nolan took the gold medal for the men's 55-59 field when he scored 20 points to beat runner-up Mark Sommers (Washington DC/Team Beyer Auto).



In the men's 45-49 sprint, Brian Abers (Aloha, Ore./BRIHOP Cycling) secured the gold medal when he outsprinted James Lawrence (Colorado Springs, Colo./CP Racing) in the final. Among men 70-74, Earl Henry (Pinellas Park, Fla./Guinness Cycling Team) was victorious when he beat out silver medalist Michael Williams (Metairie, La.). James Kloss (Huntington Beach, Calif./South Bay Wheelmen) sprinted his way to another gold medal ahead of second-place sprinter Jim Turner (Menlo Park, Calif./LuxVue-Sun Power Racing) in the men's 75-79 category. David Ellefson (Banner Elk, NC/360 Racing) won the Stars-and-Stripes jersey for men 80-84 while Gea Johnson (Scottsdle, Ariz./ beat Kelly Grant (Houston, Texas/Northwest Cycling Club) for the win in the women's 45-59 group.

Coming up tomorrow


Racing concludes tomorrow with team pursuits, team sprints, and Madisons. Click here for a complete schedule with start lists and stay tuned to for the final wrap-up.  

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.


Post new comment

8 + 3 =

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.
Page execution time was 356.12 ms.

Memory usage:

Memory used at: devel_init()=2.13 MB, devel_shutdown()=21.54 MB.