ASHP Announces 2016 Best Practices Award Winners

ASHP's picture

Six Teams Honored for Innovative Approaches to Patient Care

ASHP recognized six pharmacy teams with its Best Practices Award during the 51st Midyear Clinical Meeting and Exhibition in Las Vegas. The award, which is sponsored in cooperation with Amgen, was established in 1999 and recognizes pharmacists who demonstrate leadership and innovation in enhancing patient care and other areas of pharmacy practice.
These noteworthy practitioners bring innovative thinking and viewpoints to pharmacy practice and patient care,” said ASHP CEO Paul W. Abramowitz, Pharm.D., Sc.D. (Hon.), FASHP. “The pioneering systems these groups developed will serve as models for other pharmacists seeking to advance pharmacy practice and patient care in all healthcare settings.”
This year’s winners are as follows:

A Comprehensive Control Substance Diversion Program: Collaboration, Prevention, and Organizational Pharmacy Leadership, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, Mass.
Christopher Fortier, Pharm.D., FASHP; Erasmo Mitrano, R.Ph., M.S.; Michelle McCrea, R.Ph.; Dena Alioto, R.Ph.; Kulwant Gill, Pharm.D.; Jean Elrick, M.D.
Antimicrobial Prescribing Improvement in Patients with Acute Respiratory Infections through Pharmacist Intervention in the Ambulatory Care Setting, Boise Veteran Affairs Medical Center, Boise, Idaho
Jefferson G. Bohan, Pharm.D., BCPS; Lindsey M. Hunt, Pharm.D.; Robert McKie, M.D.; Karl Madaras-Kelly, Pharm.D., M.P.H.; ARI Campaign Implementation Team
Elevating the Scope of Practice through Credentialing and Privileging, The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center, Columbus, Ohio
Trisha Jordan, Pharm.D., M.S.; Melissa Snider, Pharm.D., BCACP; Andrew Thomas, M.D., MBA; Harrison Weed, M.D., M.S., FACP; Kent Hess, M.H.A., FACHE; OSUWMC Credentialing Department; Robert Weber, Pharm.D., M.S., FASHP
Implementation of a Pharmacy Managed Program for the Transition of Chemotherapy to the Outpatient Setting, The University of Arizona Cancer Center; Greenville Health System Cancer Institute; Banner - University Medical Center Tucson, Tucson, Ariz.
Ali McBride, Pharm.D., M.S., BCOP, BCPS, FAzPA; Christopher Campen, Pharm.D., BCOP; James Camamo, Pharm.D., BCPS; Marie Maloney, Pharm.D.; Daniel Persky, M.D.; Emad Elquza, M.D.; Kurt Wiebel, Pharm.D., M.S.
Optimizing the Management of Patients Presenting to the Emergency Department with Atrial Fibrillation: Pharmacists at the Center of a New Treatment Paradigm, University of North Carolina Health Care, Chapel Hill, N.C.
Zack Deyo, Pharm.D., BCPS, CPP; Leah Hatfield, Pharm.D., BCPS; Phil Mendys, Pharm.D., CPP, FAHA; Heather Tuttle, B.S.N., R.N., CEN; Jennifer Walker, M.S.N., ANP-BC; Kevin Biese, M.D., MAT; Anil Gehi, M.D.
Tele-ICU Pharmacist Impact on Glycemic Control Across a Large Healthcare System, Virtual Critical Care at Carolinas HealthCare System, Charlotte, N.C.
Sonia Everhart, Pharm.D., BCCCP, BCPS; Desiree Kosmisky, Pharm.D., BCCCP; Colleen Karvetski, Ph.D.; Nehal Thakkar, M.D., FCCP; Michael Reif, M.D., FCCP; Kimberly Purtill, R.N., M.S., CCRN
For more information about the ASHP Best Practices Award, visit

About ASHP

ASHP represents pharmacists who serve as patient care providers in acute and ambulatory settings. The organization’s more than 43,000 members include pharmacists, student pharmacists, and pharmacy technicians. For over 70 years, ASHP has been at the forefront of efforts to improve medication use and enhance patient safety. For more information about the wide array of ASHP activities and the many ways in which pharmacists advance healthcare, visit ASHP’s website,, or its consumer website,
Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.


Post new comment

1 + 3 =

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.