Australian Team announced for 2018 UCI Track World Championships

  • form id comment_form
  • form id search_block_form
  • form id contentanalysis_analysis_form
  • form id user_login_block
Cycling Australia's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

3 Jan 2018 Cycling Australia

Cycling Australia is pleased to announce an experienced four-rider team for the 2018 UCI Track World Championships to be held in Apeldoorn, Netherlands from February 28 - March 4 2018.

In line with the CA High Performance Strategy, the Commonwealth Games has been set as the benchmark event of the year, rather than Track Worlds, and this is reflected in the smaller than usual team for the event.

This is a one-off strategy for 2018, as the 2019/2020 Track Worlds will be part of Olympic qualification.

Dual 2017 silver medallist Stephanie Morton (SA) will line up in the sprint, keirin and 500m time trial looking to pull on the rainbow jersey following success at the opening round of the Tissot UCI Track World Cup and Oceania Track Championships.

2012 team sprint world champion and 2016 sprint silver medallist Matthew Glaetzer (SA) will tackle the sprint and keirin. As well as lining up in the 1km time trial, an event he became the first person to ride under one minute at sea level at the Manchester Track World Cup in November.

In endurance events eight-time world champion Cameron Meyer (SA) will defend his points race title while also partnering Callum Scotson (SA) in the Madison, as they look to improve on silver from a year ago. Scotson will also compete in the scratch race.

The four selected athletes competed in the first two UCI World Cups in Poland and Manchester targeting Olympic events, with Glaetzer winning men's sprint in Poland, Meyer and Scotson winning the men's Madison and Morton winning silver in the sprint and bronze in the keirin, and will head into the World Championships with confidence.

With the focus on the 2018 Gold Coast Commonwealth Games the team has been carefullly selected with individual and team long term goals in mind, and in alignment with Cycling Australia's 2020 strategy.

Australian Cycling Team for 2018 Track World Championships – Apeldoorn, Netherlands, Feb 28 - March 4 2018.

Stephanie Morton

Matthew Glaetzer

Cameron Meyer

Callum Scotson

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.


Post new comment

16 + 4 =

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.