CIFAR fellows named to most-influential list

Canadian Institute for Advanced Research's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Twenty-two CIFAR fellows and advisors have made the Thomson Reuters 2014 list of most influential scientific minds.

The list of more than 3,000 researchers includes those who rank within the top one per cent in their field for the number of citations received on their publications in the year they were published.

The CIFAR program in Cosmology & Gravity had the most researchers in the highly cited list at nine: CIFAR Senior Fellows Mark Halpern, Gary Hinshaw (both University of British Columbia) and Robert C. Myers (Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics), CIFAR Associates Carlos Frenk (University of Durham), John Peacock (University of Edinburgh), Alexander S. Szalay (Johns Hopkins University) and David Spergel (Princeton University) and CIFAR Advisors Simon White (Max-Planck-Institut für Astrophysik) and Richard Ellis (California Institute of Technology).

Two researchers in the Institutions Organizations & Growth program, CIFAR Senior Fellow Daron Acemoglu (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) and Program Director Elhanan Helpman (Harvard University), made the list in the economics and business fields.

James Zachos (University of California at Santa Cruz), a senior fellow in the Earth System Evolution program, appears under the field of geosciences. Integrated Microbial Biodiversity Senior Fellow Forest Rohwer (San Diego State University) also appears under microbiology.

The highly cited researchers in the Genetic Networks program were CIFAR Senior Fellow Stephen Scherer (The Hospital for Sick Children) and Advisory Committee Chair David Botstein (Princeton University).

Thomson Reuters listed several researchers from CIFAR’s quantum programs, including Associate Amir Yacoby (Harvard University) from the program in Quantum Information Science and six others from Quantum Materials: Associates Yoichi Ando (Osaka University), Immanuel Bloch (Ludwig-Maximilians University), Bernhard Keimer (Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research), Ian Fisher (Stanford University), Eugene Demler and Subir Sachdev (both Harvard University).

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.


Post new comment

14 + 4 =

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.
Page execution time was 2496.11 ms.

Memory usage:

Memory used at: devel_init()=2.13 MB, devel_shutdown()=22.57 MB.