Disaster Recovery Centers Closed on Memorial Day

Federal Emergency Management Agency's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

JACKSON, Miss. – The six disaster recovery centers open in Mississippi to provide information for survivors of the recent severe storms, tornadoes and flooding will be closed on Memorial Day, May 26. They will reopen on their regular schedule at 8 a.m. Tuesday. Regular hours of operation are 8 a.m. to   6 p.m. Monday through Saturday, closed Sunday.

Survivors will still be able to receive information about their case on Memorial Day by calling the FEMA helpline for assistance at 800-621-3362 (TTY 800-462-7585) between 6 a.m. and 10 p.m.

Anyone can go to any location, which are:


Jones County:

1425 Ellisville Blvd., Laurel, Miss.


Lee County:

320 Court St., Tupelo, Miss.


Lowndes County (two locations):

222 Lawrence Dr. and 381 Stadium Rd., Columbus, Miss.


Wayne County:

810 Chickasawhay St., Waynesboro, Miss.


Winston County:

826 S. Church Ave., Louisville, Miss.


Disaster survivors in Itawamba, Jones, Leake, Lee, Lowndes, Madison, Montgomery, Rankin, Simpson, Warren, Wayne and Winston counties may be eligible for FEMA’s Individual Assistance program. If possible, survivors should register for FEMA assistance before visiting a disaster recovery center.

At a center they can check on the status of their application and learn about recovery services available from other agencies, including the U.S. Small Business Administration.

Individuals and households in those counties can register for FEMA Individual Assistance online at DisasterAssistance.gov, via smartphone or tablet at m.FEMA.gov or by calling the FEMA helpline at 800-621-FEMA (3362). People who are deaf, hard of hearing or have a speech disability and use a TTY should call 800-462-7585. Lines are open 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. (central time) and assistance is available in multiple languages.

FEMA assistance does not affect benefits from other federal programs such as Social Security, SNAP or Medicaid and is not considered taxable income.

For more information on Mississippi disaster recovery, go to FEMA.gov/Disaster/4175. Visit the MEMA site at msema.org or on Facebook at .

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards. 

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status. If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362). If you have a speech disability or hearing loss and use a TTY, call 800-462-7585 directly; if you use 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS), call 800-621-3362.

FEMA’s temporary housing assistance and grants for public transportation expenses, medical and dental expenses, and funeral and burial expenses do not require individuals to apply for an SBA loan. However, applicants who receive SBA loan applications must submit them to SBA loan officers to be eligible for assistance that covers personal property, vehicle repair or replacement, and moving and storage expenses.

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.


Post new comment

11 + 6 =

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.
Page execution time was 3668.16 ms.

Memory usage:

Memory used at: devel_init()=2.13 MB, devel_shutdown()=22.59 MB.