Distinguished Canadians Appointed to the National Council

C.D. Howe Institute's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

September 2, 2014 – William Robson, President and CEO of the C.D. Howe Institute, announces the appointments of Sherry Cooper, David Johnson and John McNeil to the National Council, whose members provide strategic perspectives relevant to the Institute’s overall research program 

Sherry Cooper
PhD, Pittsburgh
  • TMX Industry Professor, DeGroote School of Business
  • Chief Economic Counsel, MDC Partners
  • Former Chief Economist and Executive Vice-President, BMO Financial Group
  • Former Director of Financial Economics, Federal National Mortgage Association
  • Former Economist, Federal Reserve Board
David Johnson
PhD, Harvard
  • Professor of Economics,Wilfrid Laurier University
  • Education Policy Scholar, C.D. Howe Institute
  • Former Fulbright Visitor, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Former Visiting Scholar, National Bureau of Economic Research
  • Former Economist, Bank of Canada
John McNeil
MA, Edinburgh
  • Former Chairman and CEO, Sun Life Assurance Company
  • Former Chairman, Fairmont Hotels and Resorts Inc.

For more information please contact: James Fleming, Editor and Vice President, Media, of the C.D. Howe Institute at 416-865-1904; email: [email protected].

The C.D. Howe Institute is an independent not-for-profit research institute whose mission is to raise living standards by fostering economically sound public policies. It is Canada’s trusted source of essential policy intelligence, distinguished by research that is nonpartisan, evidence-based and subject to definitive expert review. It is considered by many to be Canada’s most influential think tank.


Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.


Post new comment

2 + 2 =

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.
Page execution time was 963.5 ms.

Memory usage:

Memory used at: devel_init()=2.13 MB, devel_shutdown()=22.57 MB.