Downhill races kick off 2014 Gravity MTB Nationals in Angel Fire

USA Cycling's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

The men's 40-49 cat 2 downhill podium. (photo by Philip Beckman)

Angel Fire, N.M. (June 20, 2014) -- Downhill competitions for category 2 and 3 riders began the racing Friday at the 2014 USA Cycling Gravity Mountain Bike National Championships. Under beautiful, sunny skies at the Angel Fire Resort in New Mexico, 13 separate age classes between the two categories took to the downhill course that started at 10,500 feet above sea level, and descended 1,700 feet over 2.8 miles.

Category 3 races

First to head out from the start were the category 3 men. Teddy Jaramillo (Espanola, N.M.) turned in the fastest time of all cat 3s as he posted a 5:02.785 in winning the 15-18 category. Austin Brown (Hixson, Tenn.) and Alex McElyea (Scottsdale, Ariz.) earned wins in the 30-39 and 40-49 men's groups, respectively.


In women's cat 3 action, Makenzie Kjaer (Aptos, Calif.) repeated as 15-18 downhill champion while Regina Jefferies claimed the gold medal in the 30-39 age group.


Makayla Weist had the fastest time in the women's cat 2 19-29 class. (photo by Philip Beckman)

Category 2 races

The fastest downhill time of the day was set by Matt Osman (Littleton, Colo.) who crossed the line in 4:22.379 to top the men's 15-18 race. Jeff Leishman (San Clemente, Calif.) took first in the men's 19-24 division, Christopher Rizzon (Hillsborough, N.J.) set the top time in the men's 25-29 race, and Dustin Mason (Telluride, Colo.) earned the win in the men's 30-34 contest.


A pair of Albuquerque riders from the Downhill Syndicate USA team rounded out the winners in the cat 2 men's races as Jesse Percifull (Albuquerque, N.M.) and Joshua Michaels (Albuquerque, N.M.) took first place in the men's 35-39 and men's 40-49 divisions, respectively.


Two women's races concluded the day, with Makayla Weist (Saratoga Springs, Utah) riding to victory in the 19-29 cat 2 competition and Jennifer Risley (Albuquerque, N.M.) finishing first in the 30-39 race.


Christopher Rizzon was the winner in the men's cat 2 25-29 division. (photo by Philip Beckman)

Dual Slalom Finals on Saturday

Today's downhill races were non-championship, so the first Stars-and-Stripes jerseys will be handed out tomorrow when the dual slalom finals are held. Those competitions begin at 2 p.m. with the age group classes. The professional dual slalom races are scheduled to start at 4:30 p.m. Qualifying runs were held today for all dual slalom categories.

More Information

For additional event information, daily wrap-ups, photos, results and more, visit the USA Cycling event page at

You can also follow along on Twitter via the account, as well as the hashtag #MTBNats. Like and the Angel Fire Mountain Bike Park on Facebook for additional updates.

2014 USA Cycling Gravity Mountain Bike National Championships
Angel Fire Resort, New Mexico
June 20, 2014



Men 03 Junior 15-18

1.  Teddy Jaramillo (Espanola, NM)      5:02.785 
2.  Tanner Stolt (Bella Vista, AR)      5:10.334 
3.  Ben Liptak (ALBUQUERQUE)   Downhill Syndicate USA   5:28.894 
4.  Duncan Brouwer (Phoenix, AZ)      5:42.840 
5.  Alec Enriquez (Durango, CO)      5:46.461 


Men 03 Master 30-39

1.  Austin Brown (Hixson, TN)      5:12.678 
2.  Jake Gregg (Pueblo West, CO)      5:15.489 
3.  Eddie Risley (Albuquerque, NM)      5:21.651 
4.  Shawn Jennings (Pueblo, CO)      5:25.422 
5.  Colby Busching (Albuquerque, NM)      5:42.706 


Men 03 Master 40-49

1.  Alex Mcelyea (Scottsdale, AZ)      5:18.003 
2.  Wendell Hatton (SCOTTSBORO)      5:32.066 
3.  Doug Cheney (Syracuse, UT)      6:09.025 


Women 03 Junior 15-18

1.  Makenzie Kjaer (Aptos, CA)      7:51.286 
996.  Caitlin Hays (Pueblo, CO)       


Women 03 Master 30-39

1.  Regina Jefferies (Phoenix, AZ)   Mountain Bike Associ   6:47.242 


Women 02 Senior 19-29

1.  Makayla Weist (Saratoga Springs , UT)      6:00.795 
2.  Laura Strickler (Angel Fire, NM)      6:07.214 
3.  Sage Kitson (SALIDA CO)      6:14.836 
4.  Sierra Warren (Alpine, CA)      6:25.434 
5.  Kathryn Gillen (Denver, CO)      6:36.253 


Women 02 Master 30-39

1.  Jennifer Risley (Albuquerque, NM)      6:14.239 
2.  Jill Blecke (Albuquerque, NM)      6:27.959 
3.  Tori Broughton (Bellingham, WA)      6:39.750 
4.  Kimberly Douglas (Lakewood, CO)      7:11.422 


Men 02 Junior 15-18

1.  Matt Osman (Littleton, CO)      4:22.379 
2.  Josh Pottridge (Van Buren, AR)   Ouachita Cycling Club   4:44.611 
3.  Mateo Ortegon (St Petersburg, FL)   Cycle Youth   4:45.571 
4.  Shane Ellis (Durango, CO)   Durango Devo   4:45.688 
5.  Cory Thompson (TRYON)      4:52.114 


Men 02 Senior 19-24

1.  Jeff Leishman (San Clemente , CA)      4:41.926 
2.  Dustin Slaughter (ROGERS)      4:46.381 
3.  Luca Digby (SAN JUAN CAPISTRANO)      4:47.200 
4.  Sean Ungvarsky (Phoenix, AZ)      4:47.561 
5.  Hunter Mcguire (ALBUQUERQUE)      4:52.945 


Men 02 Senior 25-29

1.  Christopher Rizzon (Hillsborough, NJ)      4:34.652 
2.  Parker Skindelien (Albuquerque, NM)      4:35.552 
3.  Aaron Isom (Frisco, CO)      4:48.620 
4.  Travis Cottrell (Denver, CO)      5:00.039 
5.  Andres Brizeno (EDGEWOOD NM.)   Downhill Syndicate USA   5:01.989 


Men 02 Master 30-34

1.  Dustin Mason (Telluride, CO)      4:56.959 
2.  David Morgan (Canton, MS)   Tri County Mountain   5:00.282 
3.  Adam Hanlon (Avon, CO)      5:37.086 


Men 02 Master 35-39

1.  Jesse Percifull (Albuquerque, NM)   Downhill Syndicate USA   5:29.857 
2.  Andres Pinto (Broomfield, CO)      5:32.068 


Men 02 Master 40-49

1.  Joshua Michaels (Albuquerque, NM)   Downhill Syndicate USA   4:51.923 
2.  Grant Ingram (Idaho Springs, CO)      4:58.788 
3.  Steve Kjaer (Aptos, CA)      5:18.012 
4.  Clay Speas (Castle Rock, CO)      5:34.297 
5.  Ralph Schwartz (San Carlossan Carlos, CA)      5:41.524 


Related Articles

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.


Post new comment

1 + 1 =

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.