Eight AF officers chosen for 2017 DARPA Service Chiefs Fellows Program

US Air Force's picture

By Kat Bailey, Air Force Personnel Center Public Affairs / Published August 03, 2016


The Air Force selected eight officers for the 2017 Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency Service Chiefs' Fellows Program.

The 90-day program is designed specifically for highly motivated, active-duty officers with clear potential for operational leadership positions, said Master Sgt. Catrina Baskin, the Air Force Personnel Center workforce development section superintendent.

"The participants will provide valuable input into technology development efforts in addition to serving as liaisons between DARPA and the Air Force after they complete the program," Baskin said.

According to Baskin, DARPA's Service Chiefs' Fellows Program also exposes rising military officers to a unique organization that rapidly develops imaginative and innovative research ideas.

The 2017 participants include: Lt. Cols. Mark Bigley and John Wagemann; Majs. Zachary Augustine, Anna Gunngolkin, Jonathan Sawtelle, Brandon Westling, and Timothy Zens; and Capt. John Duray.

For more information about Air Force personnel programs, go to the myPers website. Individuals who do not have a myPers account can request one by following the instructions on the

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.