Five AAC&U Member Institutions Named as 2017 Excellence in Assessment Designees

AACU's picture
First National Designation of Its Kind Showcases Institutions at the Leading Edge of Integrated Student Learning Outcomes Assessment

Contact: Jeff Lieberson 

202-478-6073 (office)

202-236-2372 (cell) 

Filip Przybysz

217-300-5421 (office)

Five exemplary institutions, all AAC&U members, have received an Excellence in Assessment (EIA) designation recognizing their commitment to the comprehensive assessment of student learning outcomes as a means to drive internal improvement and advance student success. 

The EIA program—the first national designation of its kind—is sponsored by the Voluntary System of Accountability (VSA), a public college and university transparency initiative led by the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU) and the American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU), in partnership with the Association of American Colleges & Universities (AAC&U) and the National Institute for Learning Outcomes Assessment (NILOA).

The designees are Bowling Green State University, James Madison University, Middlesex Community College, Rio Salado College, and Southern Connecticut State University. One institution, James Madison University, received the designation of Sustained Excellence in Assessment. These institutions join the first ten designees inducted in 2016.

“Congratulations to each of the award recipients. By integrating assessment into the fabric of their institutions, they have demonstrated an on-going commitment to fostering student success both inside and outside of the classroom,” said AAC&U President Lynn Pasquerella.

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.


Post new comment

4 + 10 =

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.