Fourth of July sees Stars-and-Stripes jerseys awarded to 37 national champions

USA Cycling's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

A total of 35 divisions contested the time trial courses in Waterloo, Wisconsin, on July 4. (photo by Karl Hendrikse)

Waterloo, Wisconsin (July 4, 2014) -- There were plenty of patriotic Stars-and-Stripes jerseys on display for Independence Day as 37 national titles were awarded in the time trial after the third day of competition at the 2014 USA Cycling Amateur & Para-cycling Road National Championships.


Racing began Friday morning in Waterloo, Wis., with the U23 men and women. After winning Wednesday's U23 women's road race, Kelly Catlin (Arden Hills, Minn./NorthStar Development) doubled up by also taking Friday's 28-kilometer time trial with a winning time of 38:09. Meanwhile, T.J. Eisenhart (Lehi, Utah/BMC Development Team), who placed third in yesterday's U23 men's road race, bested a field of 71 riders to take the U23 title in a time of 32:38. Also competing on the 28km course was the men's open race, won by Tim Mulvihill (Park City, Utah/Contender Bicycles) in 32:54.


Juniors between 15 and 18 years old raced the 20-kilometer course. Adrien Costa (Los Altos, Calif./Hagens Berman U-23) and Emma White (Delanson, N.Y./Hot Tubes Development Cycling Team, Inc.) earned national titles in the 17-18 races, one year after each won their respective 15-16 divisions. Gage Hecht (Parker, Colo./NCCF-Team Specialized Juniors) climbed the top step of the men's 15-16 podium, and Hannah Arensman (Rutherford College, N.C./TWENTY16 Junior Development Team) ascended the women's 15-16 podium for the second time this week, doubling up on her road race win on Wednesday.


The youngest riders in the event took to the out-and-back 9-kilometer course. Liam Holowesko (Nassau, Fla.) and Megan Doherty (Boise, Idaho/BYRDS (Boise Young Rider Dev Sqaud)) posted the fastest times in the 13-14 races. For Doherty, it was a repeat win from last year. The 11-12 categories were won by Luke Lamperti (Sebastopol, Calif./Team Swift) and Megan Jastrab (Apple Valley, Calif./Southern California Velo), while Zayk Cronyn (Tucson, Ariz./Rock Creek Velo) and Marie Grassi (Columbus, Ohio) were crowned champions in the 9-10 age class.

Para-cycling Time Trials

The tandem duos in the blind or visually impaired category led off the para-cycling competitions. David Swanson (Tucson, Ariz./Body by Vi p/b/ Velo Vie) and Clark Rachfal (Annapolis, Md./U.S. Paralympics) covered the 28-kilometer course the quickest to take the men's victory. In the BVI women's race, Shawn Cheshire (Camillus, N.Y./Syracuse Bicycle Cycling Club) and Mackenzie Woodring (Belmont, Mich.) took home the win.

Mark Gyulafia (Westwood, Kan./Blue River Bicycle Club) defended his title in the C5 men's race, Jeffrey Martin (Oceanside, Calif./Team Roger C Peace) the C4 race, Joseph Berenyi (Oswego, Ill./ABD Cycling Team) the C3 event, and Aaron Keith (Woodinville, Wash./Team Roger C Peace) and Matthew Bigos (Cardiff By The Sea, Calif./Alternabike-Velo Hangar) repeated as champions in the C2 and C1 events, respectively.


Three champions also successfully defended their titles in the women's para-cycling time trials: Greta Neimanas (Colorado Springs, Colo./TWENTY16 Pro Cycling) in C5, Jamie Whitmore (Mount Aukum, Calif.) in C3, and Allison Jones (Colorado Springs, Colo./Globalbike Racing) in C2. Shawn Morelli (Leavenworth, Kan./Santa Fe Trails Bicycle Racing) donned the C4 champion's jersey.


In the men's handcycling races, Oscar Sanchez (San Diego, Calif.) won the H5 race, Tom Davis (Fremont, Ind.) won the H4 event, William Lachenauer (Reno, Nev./Team Roger C Peace) topped the H3 results, William Groulx (Portland, Ore./Paralyzed Veterans Racing) was fastest in the H2 category, and H1 honors went to Rob Zimmy (Shelbyville, Ind.).


Women's handcycling winners were Oksana Masters (Louisville, Ky.) in H5, Thea Rosa (Sacramento, Calif./Victory Velo Racing) in H4, and Alicia Dana (Putney, Vt./Putney Bicycle Club) in H3.

Ryan Boyle (Monroe, Conn./Team Roger C Peace) won the T2 para-cycling race, and Jay LaPointe (Aurora, Colo.) is the T1 national champion. Jill Walsh (Syracuse, N.Y.) took top honors in the T2 women's race.


The action moves to Rockdale on Saturday for road races in the para-cycling categories in addition to the junior men and women age 9-14. Sunday's criteriums in downtown Madison conclude the event and will feature fast-paced racing that will take the riders around the Wisconsin state capitol on a four-corner, one-kilometer course.


For more information on the event, including course maps, a schedule of each day’s races, results and photos, visit the 2014 USA Cycling Amateur & Para-cycling Road National Championships event page. Look for updates from Madison on the USA Cycling and channels, or follow on Twitter with the hashtag #RoadNats.

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.


Post new comment

17 + 1 =

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.
Page execution time was 539.66 ms.

Memory usage:

Memory used at: devel_init()=2.13 MB, devel_shutdown()=22.43 MB.