Freedom of Information Act Advisory Committee to Hold Inaugural Meeting at the National …

National Archives and Records Administration's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Press Releases by Date

Additional Resources

Media Alert
June 20, 2014

Freedom of Information Act Advisory Committee to Hold Inaugural Meeting at the National Archives on June 24, 2014

More Information


The newly established Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) Advisory Committee will host an open meeting to discuss improvements to FOIA administration, develop consensus and recommendations for improving FOIA administration and proactive disclosures, and solicit public comments. The initial meeting will prioritize the FOIA issues and topics that the Committee will address over the coming two years.


David S. Ferriero, Archivist of the United States

Miriam Nisbet, FOIA Advisory Committee Chair

Current FOIA Advisory Committee Members


Tuesday, June 24, 2014, 10:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.


National Archives Building

700 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW

Washington, D.C.

NOTE: The meeting has filled to capacity. Individuals who did not receive registration confirmation will not be able to attend the meeting in person, but may access the video of the full meeting afterward at Members of the media who wish to attend should contact Christa Lemelin in NARA’s Office of Government Services at 202-741-5773 or


The FOIA Advisory Committee was established in accordance with the second United States Open Government National Action Plan released on December 5, 2013, and the directive in the Freedom of Information Act, 5 U.S.C. § 552(h)(1)(C), that the Office of Government Information Services within the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) "recommend policy changes…to improve" the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) administration. This Committee is governed by the provisions of the Federal Advisory Committee Act and serves as a deliberative body to advise on improvements to the administration of FOIA. The Committee will study the current FOIA landscape across the Executive Branch and may recommend legislative action, policy changes or executive action, among other matters.

The 20 Committee members, appointed by the Archivist of the United States, include:

Dave Bahr, Bahr Law Offices, P.C.

Delores Barber, U.S. Department of Homeland Security

Andrew Becker, The Center for Investigative Reporting

Karen Finnegan, U.S. Department of State

Eric Gillespie, Govini

Larry Gottesman, Environmental Protection Agency

James Hogan, U.S. Department of Defense

Clay Johnson, The Department of Better Technology

?Nate Jones, National Security Archive

Ginger McCall, Electronic Privacy Information Center

Michele Meeks, Central Intelligence Agency

Martin Michalosky, U.S. Consumer Financial Protection Bureau

Maggie Mulvihill, Boston University

Miriam Nisbet, National Archives and Records Administration

Ramona Branch Oliver, U.S. Department of Labor

Melanie Ann Pustay, U.S. Department of Justice

David S. Reed, Federal Communications Commission

Anne Weismann, Citizens for Responsibility and Ethics in Washington

Lee White, National Coalition for History

Mark S. Zaid, Law Office of Mark S. Zaid, P.C.

For more information see:

# # #

Press inquiries should go to Miriam Nisbet, Chair of the Committee and Director of the Office of Government Information Services, at 202-741-5771 or

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.


Post new comment

1 + 10 =

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.
Page execution time was 2734.23 ms.

Memory usage:

Memory used at: devel_init()=2.13 MB, devel_shutdown()=22.56 MB.