International Child Protection Task Force

Posted 07/17/2014 02:58PM

Child protection and the implementation of safer recruitment practices is one of many common principles shared by COBIS schools and supporting members worldwide. Working in partnership with a range of international education organisations to represent COBIS member and non-member schools, COBIS contributes to the work of this recently formed Task Force which is committed to reducing risk to children, young people and wider school communities worldwide.

Task Force Charter, Committees and Actions

The charter is to apply collective resources, expertise and partnerships to help international school communities address child protection challenges. Three sub-committees have been formed to undertake the following actions:

1.     School Evaluation Committee (representatives from accreditation and inspection agencies)

Collect, review and assess current external processes, standards and indicators used to regulate, evaluate and monitor school practices designed to ensure Child Protection and Well-being, and determine what measures need to be put into place to ensure their effectiveness.

2.     School Recruitment Committee (representatives from international recruiting agencies and organisations)

Assess processes used by international recruiting organisations to screen educators seeking positions in schools and determine what measures need to be put into place to ensure their effectiveness.

3. School Policies and Resources Committee

Collect, review, create and provide resources for school communities to establish effective operational policies and practices for the selection, employment and training of educators to ensure Child Protection and Well-being.

School resources will be categorised in three groups:

  • Preventative
  • Reporting
  • Crisis/conflict resolution
  • Recovery

Task Force Members:

  • Colin Bell, Chief Executive Officer, Council of British International Schools
  • Bambi Betts, Executive Director, Academy of International School Heads
  • Christine Brown, Regional Education Officer for Europe, U.S. Department of State, Office of Overseas Schools
  • Linda Duevel, President-elect, Association for the Advancement of International Education
  • Roger Hove, President, International Schools Services
  • Jane Larsson, Executive Director, Council of International Schools
  • Kevin Ruth, Executive Director, European Council of International Schools

Please contact Colin Bell to get involved, to offer your support or if you have any further questions.