ITS Adelaide serves up weekend treat

Cycling Australia's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

22 Jun 2014 Cycling Australia

\The International Track Series continued on Saturday, with some new names and faces on the podium serving up a treat for fans at Adelaide's Super-Drome.

In the women’s omnium, Bella King (WA) took hat-trick in the flying lap, points and elimination race and has a commanding lead going into Sunday’s final rounds.

“I see this competition as a really good opportunity to try different bunch tactics. I’m feeling really good on the bike and I’m confident I can go faster again tomorrow” said King.

Kiwi Racquel Sheath finished second to King in both the points and elimination. Japan’s Sakura Tsukagoshi finished second in the flying lap and third in the elimination race. Both these riders are equal third overall, with Li Huang (China) in second overall in the women’s omnium.

The men’s omnium is anybody’s race at this stage with Scott Law (NSW) starting strongly by winning the flying lap, but he wasn't able to feature highly in the points or elimination race and now shares the leader board with Eiya Hashimoto (Japan). Hashimoto won the elimination race and third overall is the winner of the points race, Takuto Kurabayashi (Japan) only one point in arrears.

The U19 sprint events saw Jeone Park (Korea) and Tahlay Christie (WA) repeat their dominating performances from day two, qualifying fastest and finishing first in the men's and women's final. Victorian’s Braeden Dean (second) John Cochrane (third) behind Park. Brit Jackson (VIC) put on a good show of track standing skills to come second to Christie with Sheridan Spark (QLD) claiming third.

Tahlay Christie at only 16 years of age, has really made a name for herself racing at this track meet and is one to watch in the future. “I’ve come off a bit of an injury recently but it’s all good now. It’s good to gauge were I’m at and it’s all coming to plan here,” said Christie.
Sam Welsford (WA) finished off a successful track meet with wins in both the U19 points and scratch race. Michael Rice (ACT) and Daniel Fitter (QLD) both featured on the podium with strong rides in the scratch and points race where they swapped podium places in each instance.

Josie Talbot (NSW) won the U19 women's points race over Tasmanian’s Lauren Perry and Macey Stewart. Alex Manly (SA) performed well winning the U19 women's scratch race over Macey Stewart and Josie Talbot claimed third.

With big names Matthew Glaetzer and Steph Morton sitting out the keirin tonight, fans were introduced to some new names, with Japan's Kazunari Watanabe taking the men's final win over Andrew Taylor (NSW) and Malaysian Onn Lam Josiah NG. Tianshi Zhong of China won the women's final, second was Wai Sze Lee (Hong Kong) and third was Anna Meares (SA).

 “I happy with my race as it was against world class competitors, I positioned myself well and gave myself the best opportunity and ended up third,” said Meares.

Join the
145 riders from 11 countries including New Zealand, Malaysia, Ireland, Italy, Japan and China. Hong Kong, Korea and Argentina for the final day of action and conclusion of the South Australian Grand Prix, from 1pm – 10pm Sunday 22 June.

ITS Adelaide will run until 10pm each day until Sunday 22 June at Adelaide's Super-Drome and has attracted 145 riders from 11 countries including New Zealand, Malaysia, Ireland, Italy, Japan and China. Hong Kong, Korea and Argentina. 


  • $10 Adult
  • $5 Concession
  • Children U/12 free 

Complete ITS Adelaide info & schedule

LIVE Results

Follow the live race results here.

Social Media

Check for regular posts on Cycling Australia – Track Facebook & Twitter, and Cycling Australia on Instagram.

Join the conversation by using #ITSAdelaide


By Kevin Anderson

0423 729 189

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.


Post new comment

2 + 0 =

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.
Page execution time was 538.22 ms.

Memory usage:

Memory used at: devel_init()=2.13 MB, devel_shutdown()=22.45 MB.