Kintner & Cometti take pro dual slalom titles at 2014 Gravity MTB Nationals

USA Cycling's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

2014 pro dual slalom national champions Jill Kintner and Luca Cometti. (photo by Philip Beckman)

Angel Fire, N.M. (June 21, 2014) -- Jill Kintner (Seattle, Wash./ Team Norco International/Red Bull) captured her 12th national title on Saturday at the 2014 USA Cycling Gravity Mountain Bike National Championships held at the Angel Fire Bike Park. Kintner and Luca Cometti (San Diego, Calif./Factory Intense Cycles Racing) topped their respective pro fields in the dual slalom competition to earn the Stars-and-Stripes jerseys.


Kintner entered today's competition as the highest seeded female pro rider and earned a first-round bye and an automatic advancement to the finals in the three-woman field. The 2008 Olympic bronze medalist in BMX squared off against Rebecca Gardner (Marlboro, N.Y./Kona) in the final where she won both heats handily to solidify her claim to the top step of the podium. Christen Boyer (Aspen, Colo./One Ghost Industries) took home the bronze medal.


Jill Kintner has her eyes on the prize in the pro women's dual slalom final. (photo by Philip Beckman)

"I love riding slalom and it's nice to be home in America," said Kintner who is coming off a sixth-place performance in a World Cup downhill race in Austria six days ago.


Cometti was the fourth seed in the men's pro slalom and, after defeating Mikey Haderer (Concord, Calif./IXS Unique Sports) in the quarterfinals, faced top-seeded Luca Shaw (Hendersonville, N.C./SRAM Factory) in the semi-final round. Shaw was coming off a bronze-medal downhill finish at last week's World Cup, but it was Cometti getting the better of Shaw by just .13 seconds after their two heats.


In the final, Cometti came back on the final run to beat Red Bull Rampage champion Kyle Strait (Costa Mesa, Calif.) and claim the title. Shaw defeated Kai Rogers (Steamboat Springs, Colo.) for the bronze medal.


Luca Cometti takes the pro men's win ahead of Kyle Strait. (photo by Philip Beckman)

"Kyle Strait is obviously a legend of the sport and super powerful and very talented on the bike," Cometti commented. "To beat him is a pretty amazing feeling being a first-year pro and always looking up to him growing up."

Amateur National Championships
Sophia Foresta
(South Jordan, Utah) repeated as national champion in the women's open dual slalom. Her brother, Joseph Foresta (South Jordan, Utah) added another Stars-and-Stripes jersey to the household by winning the juniors men's 14 & under race. Top-seeded Tyler Krenek (Tucson, Ariz.) took the gold medal in the men's 15-18 category 1 race.


In the category 1 men's 19-29 dual slalom, Kyle Grau (Terrace Park, Ohio) defeated Scott Hoenisch (Colorado Springs, Colo./Air Force Academy Falcons Cycling) in the finals. Arthur Sykes (Las Vegas, Nev.) topped a four-man field in the men's 30-39 cat 1 race, while Alex Morgan (Amarillo, Texas) raced to victory in the category 1 men's 40+ competition.

Category 2/3 Races

In addition to the pro category 1 races, four category 2/3 dual slalom competitions were also held on Saturday. Josh Pottridge (Van Buren, Ark./Ouachita Cycling Club) took home the win in the men's 15-18 race. Jeremy Chandler (Tucson, Ariz.) topped the podium in the men's 19-29 competition. Allen Weber (Tijeras, N.M.) raced to victory in the men's 30-39 dual slalom, while the men's 40+ win went to Doug Cheney (Syracuse, Utah) for the second straight year.

Downhill Finals on Sunday

The 2014 Gravity Mountain Bike Nationals conclude Sunday at the Angel Fire Resort in New Mexico with the downhill competitions. Qualifying runs for three categories were held on Saturday. Defending national champions Kintner and Aaron Gwin (Wildomar, Calif./Specialized Racing DH) posted the fastest times for the pro fields, while Shane Leslie (Birmingham, Mich.) will be the rider to beat in the juniors men's 17-18 race. Amateur competition begins at 10 a.m., while the pros and 17-18 men will race down the mountain starting at 2 p.m.

More Information

For additional event information, daily wrap-ups, photos, results and more, visit the USA Cycling event page at

You can also follow along on Twitter via the account, as well as the hashtag #MTBNats. Like and the Angel Fire Mountain Bike Park on Facebook for additional updates.

2014 USA Cycling Gravity Mountain Bike National Championships
Angel Fire Resort, New Mexico
June 21, 2014



Men Junior 1-14

1.  Joseph Foresta (South Jordan, UT)      45:36.00 
2.  Jeremy Schwartz (San Carlos, CA)      01:03.04 
3.  Garret Kniss (Fremont, CA)      01:03.24 
4.  Dante Silva (Chula Vista, CA)      01:02.12 
5.  Julien Markewitz (Salt Lake City, UT)      01:07.80 


Men 01 Master 30-39

1.  Arthur Sykes (LAS VEGAS NV)      04:48.00 
2.  Kenth Fallen (Albuquerque , NM)   Race Team   01:01.19 
3.  Casey Norton (Colorado Springs, CO)      01:03.67 
4.  Steve Valenti (Winter Park, CO)      01:03.16 


Men 01 Master 40+

1.  Alex Morgan (AMARILLO)      26:24.00 
2.  Shawnee Mcgovern (Boulder, CO)      01:01.24 
3.  Ian Starr (Frederick, MD)      01:03.34 
996.  Johnnie Kavanaugh (Denver, CO)       


Men 01 Senior 19-29

1.  Kyle Grau (TERRACE PARK OHIO)      01:00.26 
2.  Scott Hoenisch (Usaf Academy, CO)   Air Force Academy Falcons Cycling   01:00.85 
3.  Joshua Nevelson (San Diego, CA)      02:24.00 
4.  Cody Smith (Colorado Springs, CO)   One Star Racing   01:00.82 
5.  Dustin Slaughter (ROGERS)      01:00.93 


Men 2/3 Junior 15-18

1.  Josh Pottridge (Van Buren, AR)   Ouachita Cycling Club   01:01.34 
2.  Mateo Ortegon (St Petersburg, FL)   Cycle Youth   01:00.62 
3.  Dougie Butcher (Scottsdale, AZ)      01:03.34 
4.  Lane Speas (Castle Rock, CO)   Mojo Wheels   01:04.29 
5.  Riley Farrar (Amarillo, TX)      01:04.92 


Men 2/3 Master 30-39

1.  Allen Weber (Tijeras, NM)      01:02.58 
2.  Dustin Mason (Telluride, CO)      01:07.31 
3.  Matthew Dzuricky (Colorado Springs, CO)      01:05.28 


Men 2/3 Master 40+

1.  Doug Cheney (Syracuse, UT)      01:04.75 
2.  Jason Krause (Palmer Lake, CO)   Mojo Bicycle Shop   01:02.61 
3.  Alex Mcelyea (Scottsdale, AZ)      01:05.17 
4.  Clint Bullock (Salt Lake City, UT)      01:11.30 
5.  Bj Ungvarsky (PHOENIX)      01:30.77 


Men 2/3 Senior 19-29

1.  Jeremy Chandler (Tucson, AZ)      14:24.00 
2.  Christopher Ridder (Odgen, UT)      01:01.33 
3.  Lucas Lemaire (Durango, CO)      01:03.14 
4.  Ian Supple (Albuquerque, NM)      01:02.67 
5.  Sean Garrity (Albuquerque, NM)      01:05.30 


Men Pro/Cat 1 Junior 15-18

1.  Tyler Krenek (Tucson, AZ)      14:24.00 
2.  Michael Kane (Simpsonville, SC)      01:02.81 
3.  Devin Kjaer (APTOS)      31:12.00 
4.  Niko Kilik (SAN JOSE)      16:48.00 
5.  Steven Walton (CORONA)      01:01.16 


Women 1/2/3

1.  Sophia Foresta (SOUTH JORDAN)      01:04.65 
2.  Jacqueline Thomas (WINTER PARK)      01:06.64 
3.  Samantha Kingshill (Sacramento, CA)      01:06.92 
4.  Kelly Miller (Loveland, CO)      01:09.21 
5.  Paige Ramsey (Auburn, CA)      01:08.40 


Men PR

1.  Luca Cometti (San Diego, CA)   Factory Intense Cycles Racing   57.38 
2.  Kyle Strait (Costa Mesa, CA)      56.50 
3.  Luca Shaw (Hendersonville, NC)   SRAM Factory   55.59 
4.  Kai Rogers (Steamboat Springs, CO)      57.76 
5.  Cody Johnson (San Diego, CA)      56.84 


Women PR

1.  Jill Kintner (Seattle, WA)   Team Norco Intl.   59.03 
2.  Rebecca Gardner (Marlboro, NY)   Kona   1:07.70 
3.  Christen Boyer (Aspen, CO)   One Ghost Industries   1:09.11 



Related Articles

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.


Post new comment

4 + 4 =

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.
Page execution time was 600.37 ms.

Memory usage:

Memory used at: devel_init()=2.13 MB, devel_shutdown()=22.46 MB.