LSU AgCenter experts recognized at state meeting

LSU AgCenter's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

LEAFCS award winners
Award winners at the Louisiana Extension Association of Family and Consumer Sciences were: Carolyn Robinson, agent in East Carroll Parish, Continued Excellence Award; Shatonia McCarthy, area nutrition agent in Calcasieu Parish, the Betty Jane Fairchild Award; Mandy Armentor, LEAFCS president; Cathy Agan, nutrition agent in Quachita Parish, the School Wellness Award; Robin Landry, nutrition agent in Assumption Parish, the Maxine Reeves Award. (Photo by Johnny Morgan)

News Release Distributed 05/14/14

VIDALIA, La. – Louisiana Extension Association of Family and Consumer Sciences members presented awards and introduced the 2014-2015 officers during their annual meeting in Vidalia on May 7-9.

The LSU AgCenter organization chose for its theme this year, “Recognizing our DELTA,” the acronym for Distinguished Extension Leaders Through Achievements.

The awards banquet is one of the highpoints of the conference, said LEAFCS president Mandy Armentor. But this year, the group added a tour of the Louisiana delta region, which included the Con-Agra Lamb Weston sweet potato processing plant in Delhi.

“We are happy to be able to come together for a little fun as well as education,” said Armentor, the LSU AgCenter area nutrition agent in Vermilion and Iberia parishes.

Armentor said in addition to the tour, they had a national speaker as part of the 100 years of the Cooperative Extension Service.

“We are happy to welcome Dr. Jan Scholl from the Pennsylvania State University Extension Service,” Armentor said.

This year’s winners recipients included:

– Carolyn Robinson, agent in East Carroll Parish, received the Continued Excellence Award, which recognizes LEAFCS members who have been actively involved in professional improvement programs, the promotion of professional development of others and leadership.

– Shatonia McCarthy, area nutrition agent in Calcasieu Parish, received the Betty Jane Fairchild Award, which is given in memory of Dr. Betty Jane Fairchild, the first female to hold the title of assistant director of the Louisiana Cooperative Extension Service.

– Cathy Agan, nutrition agent in Ouachita Parish, received the School Wellness Award.

– Robin Landry, nutrition agent in Assumption Parish, received the Maxine Reeves Award, which is presented in honor of Maxine Reeves, a past state and national president who was working in LaSalle Parish at the time of her retirement in 1980.

LEAFCS officers elected for the 2014-2015 year are alternate regional director region 2 – Karen Walker, Jefferson Parish; alternate regional director region 1– Joan Almond, Webster Parish; vice president for awards & recognition – Shatonia McCarty, Calcasieu Parish; parliamentarian – Terri Crawford, Tensas Parish; historian/ vice president for public affairs – Sharman Charles, State Office; president – Mandy Armentor, Vermilion Parish; secretary – Cathy Agan, Ouachita Parish; vice president for professional development – Britney Seay, Franklin Parish; regional director region 1– Cathy Judd, Lincoln Parish; vice president for member resources-Layne Langley, West Feliciana Parish; regional director region 2 – Emelia Clement, Orleans Parish and treasurer – Grace Peterson, Bossier Parish.

Johnny Morgan

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.


Post new comment

6 + 14 =

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.
Page execution time was 829.79 ms.

Memory usage:

Memory used at: devel_init()=2.13 MB, devel_shutdown()=22.56 MB.