Manuka T20 Grand Final target for Meteors

Cricket ACT's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

13 August, 2014

The Tradies Meteors have a wonderful opportunity to target a Women’s Twenty20 grand final on their home ground if they can recreate their efforts from last season in the shorter format.

Cricket Australia today announced the women’s domestic fixtures for the 2014-15 summer for the Women’s National Cricket League (WNCL) one day competition and Women’s Twenty20 (WT20).

The Meteors who were last season’s WT20 runners up against Queensland Fire at the WACA, have an opportunity to host the WT20 grand final following the recent announcement of the KFC Big Bash League Final set to be played at Manuka Oval. Like last season the WT20 grand final is played as a curtain raiser to the men’s final and is broadcast by Network Ten.

The Tradies Meteors will also return to Manuka Oval this season for the first time in two years following the recent redevelopment work at the ground. The return to the home of cricket in the ACT will see the Meteors play three WT20 Friday evening matches under the new lights at Manuka for the first time. These matches will be against Victoria, Queensland and Western Australia.

The ACT side will also play a curtain raiser to the KFC Big Bash League at Blundstone Oval against Tasmania Roar on Sunday 11th January.

It will be a tough start to the beginning of the season for the Meteors who are set to take on the two traditional powerhouses of women’s domestic cricket in the first two rounds featuring NSW Breakers and Victoria Spirit.

The competitions structure for the Meteors will be similar to previous seasons with a combination of 50-over and 20-over matches being played across each weekend round. Three WT20 matches will launch the women’s season on Friday 10 October with the Women’s National Cricket League (WNCL) beginning a day later on Saturday 11 October.

Each women’s domestic team will play six WNCL round matches and 12 WT20 round matches plus a bye round over the summer. The WNCL final will be played on Sunday 25 January including semifinals and the WT20 final will follow on Wednesday 28 January and will be played as a double-header to the KFC T20 BBL final at Canberra’s Manuka Oval.

The full Tradies Meteors squad list is set to be confirmed over the coming weeks.

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.


Post new comment

9 + 0 =

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.
Page execution time was 517.04 ms.

Memory usage:

Memory used at: devel_init()=2.13 MB, devel_shutdown()=22.55 MB.