Members Vote; GreenStone Announces Board of Directors Election Results

Farm Credit System's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

EAST LANSING, MICH. (July 2, 2014) -The members of GreenStone Farm Credit Services have elected four individuals to the cooperative's board of directors, including one new board member.

In voting Region 3 (southeast Michigan), Wm. "Hank" Choate from Jackson County joins the board of directors, and Bruce Lewis from Hillsdale County was re-elected; both to serve a three-year term. Choate brings 45 years of farming experience to the board. In partnership with his brother, son and nephew, he currently operates a dairy farm and produces 2,000 acres of cash crops in Cement City. Lewis has served on the GreenStone board for three years, and has 30 years of farming experience. He runs a 650-cow dairy and also raises cash crops and steers. 

In voting Region 4 (southwest Michigan), Darl Evers from Allegan County and Ed Reed from Cass County were both re-elected to serve a four-year term on the GreenStone board. Evers has served on the board for 24 years and has 47 years of farming experience. He currently raises Holstein heifers at one farm and, at another location, raises turkeys. Reed has served on the board for six years, and has 21 years of farming experience. He currently runs a hog and grain operation.

Additionally, GreenStone's members elected 17 individuals to serve on the cooperative's nominating committee. The nominating committee is comprised of GreenStone members from throughout the organization's territory who are tasked with recruiting candidates for the following year's board elections and nominating committee.

The 2015 nominating committee includes from voting Region I: Derek LeCronier, Bay County; and Craig Merrell, Midland County; from Region II: Richard "Mark" Lauwers, Lapeer County; and David Thuemmel, Huron County; from Region III: Larry Bush, Lenawee County; and Dennis Huehl, Washtenaw County; from Region IV: Lori Drozd, Allegan County; and David High, Cass County; from Region V: Steve Bovee, Gratiot County; Mark Chaffin, Gratiot County; and Michael Rasmussen, Montcalm County; from Region VI: James "J.P." Clover, Ionia County; Amanda "Mandy" Teachworth, Ionia County; and Eric Voisinet, Clinton County; from Region VII: Daniel Natzke, Brown County; Alan Tauchen, Shawano County; and Henry "Hank" Wagner, Shawano County. 

About GreenStone Farm Credit Services

GreenStone Farm Credit Services, based in East Lansing, Michigan, is Michigan and northeast Wisconsin's largest agricultural lender and the country's sixth largest association in the Farm Credit System. A member-owned cooperative, GreenStone owns and manages approximately $6.6 billion in assets and serves more than 23,000 members with 36 branch locations in Michigan and northeast Wisconsin. More information on GreenStone can be found at

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.


Post new comment

4 + 3 =

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.