More Stars-and-Stripes jerseys awarded on day two of Masters Track Nationals

USA Cycling's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Annabell Holland won the women's 50-54 sprint. Photo by Tim Chandonnet.

Redmond, Wash. (August 20, 2014) – The 2014 USA Cycling Masters Track National Championships continued in the Pacific Northwest on Wednesday with more individual pursuits, time trials, scratch races, points races and sprints. At the end of the day, another seventeen national champions were crowned.  

Individual Pursuits

Gregory Pent (Boulder, Colo./Boulder Orthopedics) took the first gold medal of the day when he beat out Kevin Phillips (Redondo Beach, Calif./Ironfly) by two seconds in the men's 40-44 individual pursuit. That event was followed up by the women's 35-39 individual pursuit in which Jennifer Triplett (Colorado Springs, Colo./Boulder Orthopedics) grabbed the top step of the podium ahead of Sarah Munoz (Redondo Beach, Clif./South Bay Wheelmen).

Time Trials


Gea Johnson tops the women's 45-59 time trial podium. Photo by Tim Chandonnet.

James Lawrence (Colorado Springs, Colo./CP Racing) time trialed his way to a Stars-and-Stripes jersey when he completed the men's 45-49 kilometer event in a time of 1:09.806. He bested the 1:10.808 posted by David Klipper (Portland, Ored./Guinness Cycling Team) who took another silver medal to add to the one he grabbed on Tuesday in the individual pursuit. In the men's 70-74 event, James Kinsinger (Erie, Colo./Boulder Orthopedics) clocked a 41.199 over the 500 meters to take the top step of the podium ahead of second-place finisher Leo Menestrina (San Jose, Calif./Alto Velo Racing Club). James Kloss (Huntington Beach, Calif./South Bay Wheelmen) added another national title to his collection when he posted a 41.358 in the men's 75-59 contest to win the gold medal ahead of silver medalist Robert Kenner (Encinitas, Calif./Eddie B. Cycling), and David Ellefson (Banner Elk, N.C./360 Racing) again rode his way into a Stars-and-Stripes jersey for the men's 80-84 group. The only women's time trial of the day was in the 45-49 age group and it was won by Gea Johnson (Scottsdale, Ariz./ with a time of 37.747 over the 500 meters. She bested the 39.471 posted by second fastest rider, Buffie Wuestewald (Sunnyvale, Calif./San Jose Bicycle Club).

Scratch Races


Sprint finals were held Wednesday in the women's 50-54, men's 60-64, and men's 55-59 groups. Photo by Tim Chandonnet.

Elizabeth Heller (St. Louis, Mo./Quantum Mesa Cycles) took her second gold medal of the event when she dominated the women's 55-59 scratch race to grab the win ahead of silver medalist Carol Johnson (Seattle, Wash./Puget Sound Cycling Club). Sheila Walsh (Seattle, Wash./Jet City Velo) improved upon her silver medal performance in Tuesday's points race when she won the women's 60-64 scratch race on Wednesday. She beat out silver medalist Lynn Rivier (Highland Park, Ill./Pact-DISH Network Cycling). Jo Johnson (Wilmington, Del./Riptide Cycling) also added to her hardware collection during the evening session when she took the gold medal in the women's 65-69 scratch race ahead of Ruth Gustafson (Edmonds, Wash./Sound Velo Cycling Club). In the only men's scratch race of the day, the 50-54 group, Daniel Smith (Menlo Park, Calif./Morgan Stanley Cycling Team) was victorious ahead of his teammate, Donald Langley (Morgan Hill, Calif./Morgan Stanley Cycling Team).

Points Races

Leo Pettus (Yorba Linda, Calif./OCW-Paramount Racing) took his first national title of the event when he dominated the men's 65-69 points race. Pettus finished the event with 35 points compared to the 28 earned by second place rider Richard Lilleberg (Seattle, Wash./South Bay Wheelmen). Cheryl Fuller-Muller (Cumming, Ga./Garneau Factory Team) grabbed another national title when she won the women's 40-44 points race with 25 points compared the twelve picked up by silver medalist Bre Rue (Portland, Ore./Fred Meyer Cycling Team). In the men's 35-39 points race, Kevin Schiller (San Diego, Calif.) collected 36 points to ride his way onto the top of the podium ahead of second-place finisher Ian Mensher (Seattle, Wash./Stranamanti Cycling) who collected 21 points.


Annabell Holland (Livermore, Calif./San Jose Bicycle Club) took her first gold medal of the week when she outsprinted yesterday's scratch race winner, Annette Williams (Kenmore, Wash./Kenmore Velo) in the finals of the women's 50-54 sprint. Kurt Sato (San Pedro, Calif./South Bay Wheelmen) made his deput on the medal stand at this event with a win in the men's 55-59 sprint. He beat out silver medalist Aron Seiken (Fort Worth, Texas/Momentum Coaching Group p/b Atomic) in the finals. In the next age group up, the men's 60-64, Keith Macbeth (Santa Cruz, Calif./24 Hours of Flathead) outsprinted Robert Pelegrin (Redondo Beach, Calif./Team Makuri) for the gold medal.

Coming up tomorrow


Action resumes at the Marymoor Velodrome on Thursday with more individual pursuit, time trial, scratch race, points race, and sprint competition.  Click here for a complete schedule with start lists.  Stay tuned to for a wrap-up of each day. You can also .

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.


Post new comment

2 + 0 =

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.
Page execution time was 640.85 ms.

Memory usage:

Memory used at: devel_init()=2.13 MB, devel_shutdown()=22.61 MB.