National Academy of Sciences appoints three CIFAR fellows

CIFAR's picture

The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) has elected three CIFAR fellows to its membership.

CIFAR Senior Fellow Daron Acemoglu (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) and Associates Subir Sachdev (Harvard University) and Joseph Silk (University of Oxford) join the ranks of the NAS, an organization that once counted Albert Einstein and Alexander Graham Bell among its membership.

Acemoglu, a member of the Institutions, Organizations & Growth program, studies economic growth, wage inequality and human capital among other areas. Recently, he co-authored the award-winning book Why Nations Fail with James Robinson.

Sachdev’s recent research focus has been on the theory of quantum phase transitions, one of many subjects explored by the program in Quantum Materials.

Silk is a member of CIFAR’s Cosmology & Gravity program and a pioneer in methods of predicting temperature changes in the universe’s cosmic microwave background. He also studies dark matter and how galaxies form.

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.


Post new comment

6 + 3 =

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.