New Disaster Recovery Center Schedules Announced Tuesday

Unknown error: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in decode_entities() (line 349 of /var/www/presspoint1/includes/
Federal Emergency Management Agency's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

JACKSON, Miss. – One day remains to visit the disaster recovery center in Waynesboro, which closes at 6 p.m. Wednesday, May 28.

Also closing this week, at 6 p.m. Friday, are the disaster recovery centers in Laurel and on Stadium Road in Columbus.

Three remaining disaster recovery centers will be closed weekends beginning this week. They are on Lawrence Drive in Columbus, in Louisville and in Tupelo.

Mississippi disaster survivors can visit any of the disaster recovery centers open in the state. Survivors can also call the FEMA helpline for assistance at 800-621-3362 (TTY 800-462-7585.) Locations can be found by visiting or by calling the FEMA helpline. The new schedule is:

Closing Wednesday

Wayne County

810 Chickasawhay St., Waynesboro, Miss.

8 a.m. to 6 p.m. through Wednesday, May 28.

Closing Friday

Jones County

1425 Ellisville Blvd., Laurel, Miss.

8 a.m. to 6 p.m. through Friday, May 30.

Lowndes County

381 Stadium Rd., Columbus, Miss.

8 a.m. to 6 p.m. through Friday, May 30.

Remaining open until further notice

Lee County

320 Court St., Tupelo, Miss.

8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday - Friday, closed weekends.

Lowndes County

222 Lawrence Dr., Columbus, Miss.

8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday - Friday, closed weekends.

Winston County

826 S. Church Ave., Louisville, Miss.

8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday - Friday, closed weekends.

Disaster survivors in Itawamba, Jones, Leake, Lee, Lowndes, Madison, Montgomery, Rankin, Simpson, Warren, Wayne and Winston counties may be eligible for FEMA’s Individual Assistance program. If possible, they should register for FEMA assistance before visiting a disaster recovery center. At a center they can check on the status of their application and learn about recovery services available from other agencies, including the U.S. Small Business Administration.

Individuals and households in those counties can register for FEMA Individual Assistance online at, via smartphone or tablet at or by calling the FEMA helpline at 800-621-FEMA (3362). People who are deaf, hard of hearing or have a speech disability and use a TTY should call 800-462-7585. Lines are open 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. (central time) and assistance is available in multiple languages. FEMA assistance does not affect benefits from other federal programs such as Social Security, SNAP or Medicaid and is not considered taxable income.

For more information on Mississippi disaster recovery, go to Visit the MEMA site at or on Facebook at .

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards. 

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status. If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362). If you have a speech disability or hearing loss and use a TTY, call 800-462-7585 directly; if you use 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS), call 800-621-3362.

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.


Post new comment

6 + 11 =

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.