NICTA Board Member Mary O’Kane wins Pearcey Medal

NICTA's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

2/09/2014  16:00

Professor Mary O’Kane, NICTA Board Member, has won the 2014 Pearcey Medal for distinguished lifetime achievement in the ICT industry. Professor O’Kane is an   eminent scientist, engineer, educator, company director, and Executive Chair of Mary O’Kane and Associates Pty Ltd.

Professor O’Kane has a long history of supporting innovation, science, energy and information technology transfer and chairs several key boards and committees. From 1996 to 2001, she was Vice-Chancellor of The University of Adelaide and was appointed NSW Chief Scientist and Engineer in 2008.

The Pearcey Medal is Australia’s most prestigious national annual award made to an individual in the Australian ICT industry. It provides recognition to someone who has demonstrated a distinguished lifetime of achievement and contribution to the development and growth of the ICT professions, research and industry.

“Mary’s contribution to science and technology in Australia has been outstanding and we are proud to see her recognised by the Australian Information Industry  Association (AIIA), the Australian Computer Society and the Pearcey Foundation at this year’s iAwards,” said Prof Hugh Durrant-Whyte, NICTA’s Chief Executive Officer.

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.


Post new comment

1 + 0 =

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.