Nineteen national champions crowned as Masters Track Nationals continue in Redmond

USA Cycling's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Patricia Baker took the national title in the women's 75-79 sprint. Photo by Tim Chandonnet

Redmond, Wash. (August 21, 2014) – Day three of the 2014 USA Cycling Masters Track National Championships resulted in 19 Stars-and-Stripes jerseys being awarded to the fastest amateur cyclists in the nation. Action included individual pursuits, time trials, scratch races, points races, and sprints.

Individual Pursuits

James Host (Plainfield, Ill./Pact-Dish Network Cycling) won the men's 55-59 individual pursuit when he outrode silver medalist Stanley Terusaki (Livermore, Calif./Morgan Stanley Cycling Team) and took the top step of the podium by five seconds. In the men's 60-64 event, it was Steven Worley (Boulder, Colo./Boulder Orthopedics) to take the gold when he posted a time of 2:35.852 to best second place finisher Lionel Space (Phoenix, Ariz.). Annette Williams (Kenmore, Wash./Kenmore Velo) added another gold medal to her hardware collection when she took the win in the women's 50-54 individual pursuit ahead of Beverly Chaney (Carmel, Calif./San Jose Bicycle Club).

Time Trials

Alexandra McLaughery (Portland, Ore./Bike Central) time trialed her way into a Stars-and-Stripes jersey when she posted a time of 40.696 in the women's 35-39 500-meter event. She bested the 40.864 posted by silver medalist Alexandra McKay (Seattle, Wash./SCCA-Starbucks Cycling).  The mighty Quinn Hatfield (Los Angeles, Calif./Momentum Coaching Group p/b Atomic) was the fastest among men 40-44. He clocked a 1:09.614 over the kilometer to best the 1:10.729 posted by silver medalist Stephen McLaughery (Portland, Ore./Bike Central).

Scratch Races


The men's 60-64 individual pursuit podium. Photo by Tim Chandonnet

Cheryl Fuller-Muller (Cumming, Ga./Garneau Factory Team) won her third national title in as many days when she dominated the women's 40-44 scratch race for the gold ahead of Andrea Brennan (Manasquan, NJ/Riptide Cycling). In the men's 65-69 scratch race, Mark Rodamaker (Los Altos, Calif./Performance Cycle Coaching) rode his way to the top step of the podium ahead of Richard Lilleberg (Seattle, Wash./South Bay Wheelmen).  Ian Mensher (Seattle, Wash./Keller Rohrback Cycling) topped the podium for men 35-39 when he beat out silver medalist Kevin Schiller (San Diego, Calif.).

Points Races


With 18 points, Michael Williams (Metairie, La.) collected a gold medal in the men's 70-74 points race ahead of second-place finisher Dale Harless (Bellevue, Wash./Cycle U-Apex Racing) who earned 11 points. Among men 75-79, James Kloss (Huntington Beach, Calif.) earned another national title with 11 points compared to the six picked up by runner up J. Robert Beck (Hanover Park, Ill./Midwest Masters Cycling Team). David Ellefson (Banner Elk, NC/360 Racing) stood atop the podium for men 80-84. Jane Evely (Carnation, Wash./Kenmore Velo) added another gold medal to the one she won in the individual pursuit on Tuesday when she earned the most points in the women's 45-49 points race on Thursday night. With 16 points, Evely took the top step of the podium ahead of runner up Kelly Grant (Houston, Texas/Northwest Cycling Club) who earned 12. In the final points race of the night, Brian Haas (Chicago, Ill./Pact-DISH Network cycling) dominated the men's 45-49 field by earning 38 points and taking the win over James Flynn (Port Orchard, Wash./Keller Rohrback Cycling) who accumulated 26 points.



Three age groups claimed sprint national titles based on their 200-meter qualifying times. Lynn Rivier (Highland Park, Ill./Pact-DISH Network Cycling) got the Stars-and-Stripes jersey for women 60-64, while Bonnie Woodbury (Escondido, Calif./Eddie B Cycling) took the title for women 70-74 and Patricia Baker (Laguna Hills, Calif./San Diego Cyclo Vets) took the podium for women 75-79.


Three age groups went from the qualifying rounds to the head-to-head competition on Thursday. In the men's 50-54 event, Thomas Donohue (Seattle, Wash./Seattle Super Squadra) outsprinted Tim Gaidis (St. Louis, Mo./Velo Force) in the final rounds to take the top step of the podium. In the women's 65-69 event, Patricia Riddle (La Jolla, Calif./Eddie B Cycling) took the win ahead of Jo Johnson (Wilmington, Del./Team EPS-CSS p/b Shebell & Shebell). In the women's 55-59 race, it was Elizabeth Heller (St. Louis, Mo./Quantum Mesa Cycles) who outsprinted runner up Carol Johnson (Seattle, Wash./Gregg's Trek Racing Team).

Coming up tomorrow


Action resumes at the Marymoor Velodrome on Friday with more individual pursuit, time trial, scratch race, points race, and sprint competition.  Click here for a complete schedule with start lists.  Stay tuned to for a wrap-up of each day.

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.


Post new comment

2 + 9 =

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.