Nominations open for maritime media awards with new digital focus

Nautilus UK's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version Nominations for the 2014 Maritime Media Awards are now open — with a new section to honour the best digital media contributions to promote public understanding of the sea, shipping and seafarers. The Maritime Foundation is inviting entries for the four categories in the Maritime Media Awards, which aim to inspire and honour writers, film-makers and communicators whose work enhances public understanding of Britain’s dependence upon the sea. New for 2014 is the First Sea Lord’s Award for best maritime digital media contribution — introduced to reflect changes in communications brought about by the internet and social media. The award will be made to the team or individual who has made the most constructive contribution to generating awareness through either websites, journalism, film, apps, podcast, social media feeds or other digital media output. The other three media awards categories are: The Desmond Wettern Award for best maritime journalistic contribution The Mountbatten Award for best maritime literary contribution The Donald Gosling Award for best maritime television or film contribution First Sea Lord Sir George Zambellas said: ‘I am delighted to launch this new addition to the Maritime Media Awards. The exciting advances in digital media are fundamental to communicating the maritime message quickly and easily to many important and new audiences. This new award recognises the ambition, innovation and opportunities on offer.’ Nominations should be made online on the Maritime Foundation website before 31 July 2014. The winners will be announced and prizes presented at the Institute of Directors, London, on 5 November 2014.
Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.


Post new comment

9 + 1 =

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.
Page execution time was 537.19 ms.

Memory usage:

Memory used at: devel_init()=2.13 MB, devel_shutdown()=22.53 MB.