Numbers of MEPs in committees set for the new term

European Parliament's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Press release - / Parliament's Rules of Procedure

  MEPs voting during a committee meeting

The numbers of MEPs to sit in Parliament’s twenty committees and two sub-committees for the new legislative term, reflecting the political balance of the House, were approved in a vote on Wednesday. On Thursday, MEPs are to vote on the committees' membership lists.

Numbers of members per committee and sub-committee as voted by MEPs:

Committee on Foreign Affairs: 71,

Committee on Development: 28,

Committee on International Trade: 41,

Committee on Budgets: 41,

Committee on Budgetary Control: 30,

Committee on Economic and Monetary Affairs: 61,

Committee on Employment and Social Affairs: 55,

Committee on the Environment, Public Health and Food Safety: 69,

Committee on Industry, Research and Energy: 67,

Committee on the Internal Market and Consumer Protection: 40,

Committee on Transport and Tourism: 49,

Committee on Regional Development: 43,

Committee on Agriculture and Rural Development: 45,

Committee on Fisheries: 25,

Committee on Culture and Education: 31,

Committee on Legal Affairs: 25,

Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs: 60,

Committee on Constitutional Affairs: 25,

Committee on Women’s Rights and Gender Equality: 35,

Committee on Petitions: 35,

Sub-committee on Human Rights: 30, and

Sub-committee on Security and Defence: 30.

Rules on the composition of committees

According to Parliament's Rules of procedure, the composition of its committees should as far as possible reflect the composition of Parliament as a whole. The proportional distribution of committee seats among political groups must not depart from the nearest appropriate whole number.


Membership in committees to be approved on Thursday

The vote on the composition of committees will take place on Thursday at 10:00. The provisional list of MEPs in each committee will be published after 19:00 on Wednesday evening on the plenary website, under "Priority information" (link on the right).

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.


Post new comment

3 + 1 =

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.