OAS Accompanied the Presentation of the Prize for Quality in Public Administration in the Dominican Republic together with President Danilo Medina

Organization of American States's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

  August 28, 2014

The Organization of American States (OAS) was invited by the Government of the Dominican Republic to participate in a ceremony that took place this Wednesday, headed by President Danilo Medina, in which the Prize for Quality of Public Administration was awarded.

Representing the hemispheric Organization was the Director of the Department for Effective Public Management, María Fernanda Trigo, who was invited to take part by the Minister for Public Administration, Ramón Ventura Camejo. During the event, Trigo highlighted the importance of the prize that seeks to stimulate best practices in public administration. “Incentives like this are important, because they help to incentivize the continuous improvement of institutions. To facilitate a space for learning and sharing experiences is one of the objectives of our work as an organization,” she said.

The president of the jury, Carlos Fondeur, said the prize, which was awarded in the Regional Theater of Cibao in Santiago, aims to create a culture of quality, and with it a process of continuous improvement, as well as the identification of strong points and weaknesses in each of the public institutions.

The ceremony brought together officials and employees of the fifty institutions of the government in Santiago which were nominated for the prize. The winners of the gold medals were: the Doctor Thelma Rosario Pediatric Burn Unit, the Administradora de Riesgos Laborales Salud Segura, the Politécnico Femenino Nuestra Señora de Las Mercedes, and the National Office of Industrial Property.

Receiving silver medals were the Electrical Distribution Corporation of the North, the Monument to the Heroes of the Restoration, the Juan Antonio Collado Secondary School and the Municipality of San José de las Matas. Bronze medals went to the Corporación del Acueducto y Alcantarillado de Santiago, the Department of Clinical Investigations of the José María Cabral y Báez Regional University Hospital, the Dirección de Información y Defensa de los Afiliados and School District 08-03.

Other institutions receiving bronze distinctions were the School District 08-05, the Ministry of Women, the Office of Access to Information of the Municipality of Santiago, the Unitary System of Beneficiaries and the Gynecology and Chemotherapy Unit of the the José María Cabral y Báez Regional University Hospital.

For more information, please visit the OAS Website at www.oas.org.

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.


Post new comment

5 + 6 =

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.
Page execution time was 816.56 ms.

Memory usage:

Memory used at: devel_init()=2.13 MB, devel_shutdown()=22.57 MB.