President-elect Juncker asks the Council to add Violeta Bulc to the list of Commissioners-designate

European Commission's picture

European Commission - IP/14/1136   14/10/2014

Other available languages:

European Commission

Press Release

Brussels, 14 October 2014

President-elect Juncker asks the Council to add Violeta Bulc to the list of Commissioners-designate

President-elect Jean-Claude Juncker today sent an update to the list of Commissioners-designate to Italian Prime Minister Matteo Renzi in his capacity as President of the Council of the European Union, thereby signalling his agreement on the new Slovenian candidate.

This follows the interview President-elect Juncker held with Violeta Bulc, Slovenian candidate for Commissioner, today.

Next Steps:

The Council of the European Union must now agree to the updated list, in accordance with Article 17(7) of the Treaty on European Union (TEU), after which the list will be published in the Official Journal of the EU (the EU's Statute Book). Thereafter, President-elect Juncker intends to announce the portfolio he intends to attribute to Ms Bulc.

In a next step, the European Parliament has to give its consent to the entire College of Commissioners, including the President and the High-Representative Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy/Vice-President of the European Commission. This is preceded by a hearing of the Commissioner-designate Bulc in the appropriate parliamentary committee(s), in line with Rule 118 of the Parliament's Rules of Procedure. Once the European Parliament has given its consent, the European Council formally appoints the European Commission, in line with Article 17(7) TEU.

Updated list of Commissioners-designate for the next Commission, in alphabetical order:

Vytenis ANDRIUKAITIS (Lithuania)

Andrus ANSIP (Estonia)

Miguel ARIAS CAÑETE (Spain)

Dimitris AVRAMOPOULOS (Greece)

Elżbieta BIEŃKOWSKA (Poland)

Violeta BULC (Slovenia)

Corina CREŢU (Romania)

Valdis DOMBROVSKIS (Latvia)

Kristalina GEORGIEVA (Bulgaria)

Johannes HAHN (Austria)

Jonathan HILL (United Kingdom)

Phil HOGAN (Ireland)

Vĕra JOUROVÁ (Czech Republic)

Jyrki KATAINEN (Finland)

Cecilia MALMSTRÖM (Sweden)

Neven MIMICA (Croatia)

Carlos MOEDAS (Portugal)

Pierre MOSCOVICI (France)

Tibor NAVRACSICS (Hungary)

Günther OETTINGER (Germany)

Maroš ŠEFČOVIČ (Slovakia)

Christos STYLIANIDES (Cyprus)

Marianne THYSSEN (Belgium)

Frans TIMMERMANS (Netherlands)

Karmenu VELLA (Malta)

Margrethe VESTAGER (Denmark)

In addition to: Federica MOGHERINI (Italy), appointed High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy by the European Council in agreement with President-elect Juncker.

For more information:

Following an EU-wide election campaign, Jean-Claude Juncker was proposed as candidate for President of the European Commission by the European Council on 27 June 2014. On the basis of the Political Guidelines he set out before the European Parliament, Jean-Claude Juncker was elected to become next President of the European Commission by a strong majority of 422 votes in the European Parliament plenary session of 15 July 2014.

Homepage of President-elect Jean-Claude Juncker:

Political Guidelines for the Next European Commission: 'A New Start for Europe: My Agenda for Jobs, Growth, Fairness and Democratic Change':

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.