Public Invited To Help Greater Yellowstone Coordinating Committee Chart A Path To The Future

National Park Service's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

The agencies entrusted with managing federal lands within the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem (GYE) are asking the public to help them determine which ecosystem issues should be the focus in the future.
The Greater Yellowstone Coordinating Committee (GYCC) is a group of eleven federal agencies who work together to manage over 15 million of acres of public land in Idaho, Montana and Wyoming.
GYCC managers are inviting the public to join them in a conversation in late March in Jackson, Wyo. Rather than hold a discussion about individual agency issues, the managers want the public to share their thoughts on cross-jurisdictional, ecosystem scale issues where they believe GYCC should focus in the coming years. Specifically, the GYCC wishes to explore questions related to cross-agency land and resource management opportunities, GYE-level priorities the GYCC should focus on, and future communication and collaboration with the public and stakeholder groups.
The conversation between the public and GYCC leadership is set for 1:00-5:00 p.m. on Monday, March 24, 2014 at the Teton County Library, 125 Virginian Lane, in Jackson, Wyo. The emphasis of the session will be on interaction and communication between all attendees.
Information gathered during this listening session will help the GYCC develop and strengthen its working relationships with the public and stakeholders as they collaborate to put their resources toward addressing joint challenges and opportunities in managing these shared landscapes.

Those who plan to attend are asked to commit to attending the full four hour session and to RSVP by March 19 to e-mail us.

ABOUT THE GREATER YELLOWSTONE COORDINATING COMMITTEE: The Greater Yellowstone Coordinating Committee (GYCC) includes federal land managers from national parks, national forests, national wildlife refuges and Bureau of Land Management’s National System of Public Lands across the Greater Yellowstone Area (GYA): the largest, essentially intact natural area in the lower 48 states. Together, these agencies manage 15 million acres of federal land. The committee was formed to pursue opportunities of mutual cooperation and coordination in the management of core federal lands within the GYA. Participating federal land managers administer three national parks (Yellowstone, Grand Teton & John D. Rockefeller, Jr. Memorial Parkway), two national wildlife refuges (National Elk Refuge, Red Rock Lakes), six national forests (Bridger-Teton, Caribou-Targhee, Shoshone, Custer, Gallatin, and Beaverhead-Deerlodge), and Bureau of Land Management – administered lands in Idaho, Montana and Wyoming.
Information about the GYCC and links to member agency websites are available at:

News Source : Public Invited To Help Greater Yellowstone Coordinating Committee Chart A Path To The Future

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.


Post new comment

14 + 1 =

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.
Page execution time was 515.21 ms.

Memory usage:

Memory used at: devel_init()=2.13 MB, devel_shutdown()=22.56 MB.