RELEASE: Daniel Bahr, Former German Federal Minister of Health, Joins the Center for American Progress as a Visiting Senior Fellow

American Progress's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly versionPDF versionPDF version

Contact: Anne Shoup
Phone: 202.481.7146
Email: ashoup@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Today, the Center for American Progress announced that Daniel Bahr, former federal minister of health for Germany, will be joining CAP as a Visiting Senior Fellow. Mr. Bahr will focus on comparisons between the German and U.S. health care systems, drawing lessons from the German system that can be applied to the U.S. system and vice versa. In particular, Mr. Bahr will focus on reforms to the payment and delivery system that will lower health care costs and improve the quality of care.

“We are incredibly honored to have former Health Minister Bahr joining us,” said Neera Tanden, President of the Center for American Progress. “I have no doubt that he will bring a fresh and unique perspective to bear on our health care system. Sharing ideas and best practices globally is an important part of fulfilling our mission.”

Mr. Bahr was previously the parliamentary state secretary in the German Federal Ministry of Health. He is the health politics expert for the Free Democratic Party and was chairman of the Young Liberals, the party’s youth organization, from 1999 to 2004. He studied economics in Münster after completing his bank training at Dresdner Bank AG, now known as Commerzbank AG.

For more information, please contact Anne Shoup at ashoup@americanprogress.org.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)


202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)


202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)


202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)


202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi


202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton


202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene


202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

News Source : RELEASE: Daniel Bahr, Former German Federal Minister of Health, Joins the Center for American Progress as a Visiting Senior Fellow

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.