The Royal Society announces election of new Fellows 2014

University of Cambridge's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

The Royal Society has today announced the election of its new Fellows, including ten Cambridge University academics, who join an eminent list of scientists, engineers and technologists from the UK and the Commonwealth. Past Fellows and Foreign Members have included Newton, Darwin and Einstein.

The Royal Society is a self-governing Fellowship of many of the world’s most distinguished scientists drawn from all areas of science, engineering, and medicine. The Society’s fundamental purpose is to recognise, promote, and support excellence in science and to encourage the development and use of science for the benefit of humanity.

Sir Paul Nurse, President of the Royal Society, said: “Science helps us to better understand ourselves and the natural world on which we depend. Building scientific knowledge helps us face some of the planet’s biggest challenges such as food shortages, climate change and tackling disease.These scientists who have been elected to the Fellowship of the Royal Society have already contributed much to the scientific endeavour, whether that is in academia, industry or government.”

List of Fellows elected today:

Professor Geoffrey Grimmett, Statistical Laboratory

Professor Richard Hills, Department of Physics

Dr Timothy Holland, Department of Earth Sciences

Professor Martin Johnson, Department of Physiology, Development and Neuroscience

Professor Vladimir Markovic, Department of Pure Mathematics and Mathematical Statistics

Professor Paul Midgley, Department of Materials Science and Metallurgy

Dr Karalyn Patterson, Department of Clinical Neurosciences

Professor Randy Read, Department of Haematology

Professor David Ron, Department of Clinical Biochemistry

Dr Julian Parkhill, Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Licence. If you use this content on your site please link back to this page.

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.


Post new comment

1 + 18 =

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.