Seven Virginia Schools Earn National Blue Ribbon Honors

VDOE's picture

RICHMOND, Va. – Seven Virginia schools – six public and one private – are among the schools named today by U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos as 2017 National Blue Ribbon Schools. The Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and private K-12 schools that are either academically superior or that demonstrate dramatic gains in student achievement.

Virginia public schools recognized as 2017 National Blue Ribbon Schools are as follows:

  • Emerick Elementary in Loudoun County
  • Hickory High in Chesapeake
  • Midway Elementary in Dinwiddie County
  • Mountain View Elementary in Rockbridge County
  • Stonehouse Elementary in Williamsburg-James City County
  • Union Hall Elementary in Pittsylvania County

Trinity School at Meadow View, a private school in Falls Church, was also recognized as a 2017 National Blue Ribbon School. The Council for American Private Education nominates private schools for Blue Ribbon awards each year.

“These schools show that excellence is possible regardless of the type of communities they serve,” Superintendent of Public Instruction Steven R. Staples said. “The teachers, principals, support staff and students at each school are to be congratulated for their hard work and success.

The six public schools also earned awards earlier this year through the Virginia Index of Performance program. Emerick Elementary, Hickory High, Midway Elementary and Union Hall Elementary earned the Board of Education Excellence Award. Mountain View Elementary and Stonehouse Elementary earned the Board of Education Distinguished Achievement Award.

The National Blue Ribbon Schools are selected based on one of two criteria: performance on state assessments, or in the case of private schools, performance on national standardized tests and high school graduation rates; or performance in closing achievement gaps between a school’s subgroups and all students over the past five years while increasing graduation rates for each subgroup.

The U.S. Department of Education will honor all of the nation’s 2017 National Blue Ribbon Schools during a conference and awards ceremony November 6 and 7 in Washington, D.C.

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.


Post new comment

2 + 0 =

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.