Six NSW players named in Australia Under 17 squad

Cricket NSW's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Three NSW Metro and Three ACT/NSW Country players have been named in the Australian U/17 squad a day after NSW Metro won the male U/17 National Championships.

The Cricket Australia youth selection panel has selected a 14-player squad, which will represent the Cricket Australia XI at this summer’s Under 19 National Championships, to be played in Tasmania in December.

Cricket Australia National Talent Manager and National Selection Panel member Greg Chappell singled out NSW Metro captain Oliver Davies and team mate Liam Marshall for special praise.

“The most pleasing feature of this year’s Under 17 National Championships has been the quality of the batting, which I think has been as good as it has been for some time,” Chappell said.

“These boys will go on to play as a team at the Under 19 National Championships, and will come into calculations for the Australia Under 19 team that goes to New Zealand in January to play in the 2018 ICC Under 19 Cricket World Cup.

“Some of the boys that have been in Australian teams for the last couple of years are still showing through well - Liam Marshall and Oliver Davies from New South Wales, and Mackenzie Harvey and Patrick Rowe from Victoria.

“All of the players selected are very exciting young cricketers who have performed well at this carnival, and we look forward to seeing how they step up at the next level.”

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.


Post new comment

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.