Squad announced for opening rounds of WNCL

Cricket ACT's picture

Abode Hotels ACT Meteors Coach, James Allsopp today announced a strong squad of 12 that will play in the opening round of the WNCL at Manuka Oval this weekend.

The Abode Hotels ACT Meteors face the Victorian Spirit at 2.30pm this Friday in a fifty over day/nighter before playing the Queensland Fire on Sunday at 10am.

Commenting on the squad selection, Allsopp said, “We are very confident in the squad that has been selected to play against Victoria and Queensland this weekend,

“There is some exciting young talent in the group, mixed with some promising new additions and obviously the international experience of our captain Erin Osborne and South African's Dane Van Niekerk and Marizanne Kapp to lead the group. We feel we have a number of options with both bat and ball to challenge the very strong Victorian and Queensland teams this weekend.”

The Abode Hotels squad selected for the opening round of the WNCL is:

Erin Osborne - Captain

Dane Van Niekerk

Samantha Bates

Nicola Hancock

Hayley Jensen

Erica Kershaw

Marizanne Kapp

Erin Burns

Claire Koski

Katie Mack

Angela Reakes

Emily Leys

Maitlan Brown was left out of the squad due to a stress fracture to her right leg which will see her out of action for approx. 6-8 weeks.

“We are hopeful that Mailtan’s rehabilitation is relatively smooth and we can have her fit and ready for the WBBL Season,” General Manager of High Performance Aiden Blizzard said.

“With Maitlan being one of our up and coming stars, we will ensure she is fully recovered before being cleared to play as with any other athlete.”

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.


Post new comment


To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.