Written Comments Accepted Through May 19, 2014

HARRISBURG, Pa. – The Susquehanna River Basin Commission (SRBC; will conduct a public hearing on May 8 to accept public comments on applications for a diversion of water and several water withdrawals, proposed revisions to fee schedules, and updates to the Comprehensive Plan. The hearing will be held at the Pennsylvania State Capitol, Room 8E-B, East Wing, Commonwealth Avenue, Harrisburg, Pa. The hearing will begin at 2:30 p.m. and end at 5:00 p.m. or when public testimony concludes, whichever comes first.

The list of 20 project applications (1 involving a diversion), proposed fee changes, information related to the Comprehensive Plan updates, and options for submitting comments electronically are all available on SRBC’s Public Participation Center at

Persons planning to present oral testimony at the public hearing are encouraged to notify SRBC prior to the hearing of their intent to testify and to indicate the project or other subject they plan to comment on. The notices are to be directed to Richard Cairo, General Counsel, Susquehanna River Basin Commission, 4423 North Front Street, Harrisburg, PA 17110, Telephone:  (717) 238-0423, ext. 1306, Fax:  (717) 238-2436. 

SRBC will also accept written comments until May 19, 2014. Comments may be submitted via the internet at or mailed or faxed to Mr. Cairo.

SRBC is scheduled to vote on these and other action items at its next business meeting on June 5, 2014, in Entriken, Pa.

SRBC’s rules of conduct for public hearings include (see full set of rules on the web site): 

  • All persons must sign-in and show photo identification.
  • Signage, posters, banners or other display media will be permitted only in designated areas.
  • The press is permitted to set up and use video and recording devices in a designated area. The public is permitted to use small, hand-held devices that remain in their possession and are used in a non-disruptive manner. 

The Harrisburg-based SRBC is the governing agency established under a 100-year compact signed on December 24, 1970, by the federal government and the states of New York, Pennsylvania and Maryland to protect and wisely manage the water resources of the Susquehanna River Basin. The Susquehanna River starts in Cooperstown, New York, and flows 444 miles to Havre de Grace, Maryland, where the river meets the Chesapeake Bay.