STATEMENT: CAP Economist Adam Hersh on the January Jobs Report

American Progress's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly versionPDF versionPDF version

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Today, Center for American Progress Economist issued the following reaction to the announcement of January’s employment figures:

Today’s jobs data confirm that underlying economic trends—not the weather—continue holding back U.S. labor markets. Jobs continue moving in the right direction but not fast enough to solve America’s ongoing unemployment crisis. The headline unemployment rate, at 6.6 percent in January, would be nearly 10 percent if so many workers had not exited the labor force in frustration that a growing economy is not producing adequate opportunities for work.

This merely moderate recovery six years after a severe economic shock is a result of policies that choose fiscal austerity over job creation and investments in growth—a choice made again yesterday when Senate conservatives filibustered a bipartisan effort to renew emergency unemployment benefits for people looking for work for more than six months.

To speak with an expert about the monthly jobs report, contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)


202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)


202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)


202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)


202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi


202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton


202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene


202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

News Source : STATEMENT: CAP Economist Adam Hersh on the January Jobs Report

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.