STATEMENT: CAP President Neera Tanden on Secretary Sebelius’ Legacy and the Success of the Affordable Care Act

American Progress's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly versionPDF versionPDF version

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email:

Washington, D.C. – In response to the announcement that Secretary of Health and Human Services Kathleen Sebelius will step down from her post, Center for American Progress President Neera Tanden issued the following statement:

I commend Secretary Sebelius for five years of dedicated service to the Obama administration and to the country. During this time, she presided over the largest expansion of health care in half a century to more than 10 million Americans who now have the life-saving healthcare they need and deserve. Insurance companies can no longer deny coverage because of a pre-existing condition, put limits on the amount of care you can receive, or charge women more simply because of gender. Secretary Sebelius’ legacy will be defined by her tireless advocacy and the millions of people who now have access to affordable health care.

To speak with experts on this issue, please contact Madeline Meth at mmeth@americanprogress.org.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)


202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)


202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)


202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)


202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi


202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton


202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene


202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

News Source : STATEMENT: CAP President Neera Tanden on Secretary Sebelius’ Legacy and the Success of the Affordable Care Act
Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.