STATEMENT: CAP’s Chelsea Parsons on Supreme Court’s Decision on Law Prohibiting Domestic Abusers from Possessing Guns

American Progress's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly versionPDF versionPDF version

Contact: Anne Shoup
Phone: 202.481.7146
Email: ashoup@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. – Today, the Supreme Court issued a decision in United States v. Castleman unanimously rejecting a challenge to the federal law prohibiting domestic abusers from possessing guns. Center for American Progress Associate Director for Crime and Firearms Policy Chelsea Parsons issued the following statement reacting to the decision:

The Supreme Court’s unanimous decision today confirms what is basic common sense: Guns and domestic abusers are a deadly mix. The presence of a gun in a household with a history of domestic violence increases by 20 times the risk that a woman will be murdered, and the court’s decision today will ensure that a broad category of domestic abusers will be prevented from possessing guns. To truly keep guns out of the hands of dangerous abusers and stalkers, however, Congress must act to pass universal background checks legislation and Sen. Amy Klobuchar’s (D-MN) Protecting Domestic Violence and Stalking Victims Act.

Related resource:

To speak to an expert, contact Anne Shoup at ashoup@americanprogress.org or at 202.481.7146.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)


202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)


202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)


202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)


202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi


202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton


202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene


202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

News Source : STATEMENT: CAP’s Chelsea Parsons on Supreme Court’s Decision on Law Prohibiting Domestic Abusers from Possessing Guns

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.