STATEMENT: CAP’s Conathan on the Confirmation of Dr. Kathryn Sullivan as NOAA Administrator

American Progress's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly versionPDF versionPDF version

Contact: Anne Shoup
Phone: 202.481.7146
Email: ashoup@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Today, with a bipartisan voice vote, the Senate confirmed Dr. Kathryn Sullivan as the next administrator of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, or NOAA. Sullivan served for over a year as acting administrator after holding the positions of assistant secretary of commerce for environmental observation and prediction and chief scientist. Michael Conathan, Director of Ocean Policy at the Center for American Progress American Progress, released the following statement:

As both an avid scuba diver and the first American woman to walk in space, Dr. Sullivan has seen the world from spectacular heights and briny depths, and she brings a unique set of perspectives to inform the management of some of our most vital natural resources. She has already proven more than capable of providing leadership, knowledge, and much-needed guidance to meet the many challenges that span NOAA’s scientific endeavors on the frontiers of space and sea.

Related resource:

To speak with an expert, contact Anne Shoup at ashoup@americanprogress.org or 202.481.7146.

###

 

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)


202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)


202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)


202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)


202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi


202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton


202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene


202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

News Source : STATEMENT: CAP’s Conathan on the Confirmation of Dr. Kathryn Sullivan as NOAA Administrator

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.