STATEMENT: CAP’s Donna Barry on McCullen v. Coakley Decision

American Progress's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly versionPDF versionPDF version

Contact: Chelsea Kiene
Phone: 202.478.5328
Email:

Washington, D.C. — Today, following the Supreme Court decision on McCullen v. Coakley holding that a Massachusetts law imposing a 35-foot buffer zone around abortion clinics violates the First Amendment, Center for American Progress Director of Women’s Health and Rights Donna Barry released the following statement:

The Supreme Court has once again ruled against women. Although the Court indicated that the freedom to seek health care and prevent harassment and intimidation of clinic patients and staff is a legitimate state interest, its decision invalidated the only reasonable way that Massachusetts could achieve this interest. Because alternatives to buffer zones have proven to be ineffective, patients and health care staff will continue to be targets of violence, harassment, and intimidation. Unfortunately, health care providers and their staff in Massachusetts will again have to be concerned about their safety and have greater fear going to and from work.

For more information or to speak to an expert on this topic, contact Chelsea Kiene at ckiene@americanprogress.org or 202.478.5328.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)


202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Andrea Purse (women's issues)


202.741.6250 or apurse@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention, the National Security Agency)


202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (energy and environment, Legal Progress, higher education)


202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi


202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen


202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene


202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

News Source : STATEMENT: CAP’s Donna Barry on McCullen v. Coakley Decision
Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.