STATEMENT: CAP’s Lawrence J. Korb on Pentagon Budget Outlined Today by Secretary Hagel

American Progress's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly versionPDF versionPDF version

Contact: Anne Shoup
Phone: 202.481.7146
Email: ashoup@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Today, as Defense Sectary Chuck Hagel outlined a proposed budget for the Pentagon, , Senior Fellow at the Center for American Progress, released the following statement:

The defense budget presented today responsibly meets the challenges that our country currently faces, rather than those from a bygone era. While Secretary Hagel is right to tackle some very difficult issues—such as slowing the growth of military personnel costs and finding the right balance between active duty and Reserve forces—ignoring the budget caps after FY 2015 will make it more difficult for the Pentagon to make the hard choices that will be necessary in the future.

To speak with an expert, contact Anne Shoup at ashoup@americanprogress.org or 202.481.7146.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)


202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)


202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)


202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)


202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi


202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton


202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene


202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

News Source : STATEMENT: CAP’s Lawrence J. Korb on Pentagon Budget Outlined Today by Secretary Hagel

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.