STATEMENT: CAP’s Michael Conathan on EPA Taking Action to Protect Alaska’s Bristol Bay

American Progress's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly versionPDF versionPDF version

Contact: Anne Shoup
Phone: 202.481.7146
Email: ashoup@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Today, the Environmental Protection Agency used its authority under the Clean Water Act section 404(c) to initiate the process of protecting the Bristol Bay watershed from potential open pit mining activity. Michael Conathan, Director of Ocean Policy at American Progress, released the following statement:

Today’s decision reflects the conclusions amassed over years of scientific and economic analysis: the Bristol Bay watershed’s salmon, its fishing industry and jobs, and its environment should be protected. The administration acted correctly in using its authority under the Clean Water Act to initiate a review of potential mining activity in this pristine region. We must ensure one of the most productive ecosystems on the planet will continue supporting Alaskans and feeding the world for generations to come.

To speak with an expert, contact Anne Shoup at ashoup@americanprogress.org or 202.481.7146.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)


202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)


202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)


202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)


202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi


202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton


202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene


202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

News Source : STATEMENT: CAP’s Michael Conathan on EPA Taking Action to Protect Alaska’s Bristol Bay

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.