STATEMENT: CAP’s Neera Tanden on New White House Grant Program Supporting Apprenticeships

American Progress's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly versionPDF versionPDF version

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email:

Washington, D.C. — Center for American Progress President Neera Tanden today issued the following reaction to the news that the White House will establish a grant program to support the development of job-driven training, such as apprenticeships:

By taking this important step to create new apprenticeship opportunities in America, the White House is helping to boost workers’ earnings, raise companies’ productivity levels, and help businesses meet the demand for skilled labor. We applaud the administration for launching this smart initiative that will connect workers to high-wage jobs today and strengthen America’s economic competitiveness for years to come.

Related CAP report: Training for Success: A Policy to Expand Apprenticeships in the United States by Ben Olinsky and Sarah Ayres

For more information or to speak to an expert, contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6285.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)


202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)


202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)


202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)


202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi


202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton


202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene


202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

News Source : STATEMENT: CAP’s Neera Tanden on New White House Grant Program Supporting Apprenticeships
Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.