STATEMENT: CAP’s Neera Tanden on Unrest in Venezuela and the Jailing of Leopoldo Lopez

American Progress's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly versionPDF versionPDF version

Contact: Anne Shoup
Phone: 202.481.7146
Email: ashoup@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. —In December 2011, former Chacao Mayor Leopoldo Lopez participated in CAP’s Global Progress Summit at the United Nations and Century Foundation. Today, in response to the unrest in Venezuela, including a government crack-down on student-led demonstrators and the jailing of Lopez, Neera Tanden, President of the Center for American Progress, released the following statement:

Events across Venezuela during the past week are cause for deep concern for all who value freedom of political expression and cherish human dignity. The Venezuelan authorities’ resort to violence against peaceful student demonstrators, causing multiple deaths among protestors; their decision to arbitrarily jail Leopoldo Lopez, a leading opposition voice; and their efforts to hide their repression by censoring international media coverage of protests across Venezuela all fly in the face of common decency and basic international norms. Now is the time for leaders from all walks of life and all political persuasions throughout the Americas and around the world to stand with the Venezuelan people and their desire to live in peace and democracy.

To speak with an expert, contact Anne Shoup at ashoup@americanprogress.org or 202.481.7146.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)


202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)


202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)


202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)


202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi


202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton


202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene


202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

News Source : STATEMENT: CAP’s Neera Tanden on Unrest in Venezuela and the Jailing of Leopoldo Lopez

Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.