STATEMENT: Carmel Martin on the Department of Education’s Effort to Ensure High-Quality Teachers for All Students

American Progress's picture
Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly versionPDF versionPDF version

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email:

Washington, D.C. — Carmel Martin, Executive Vice President for Policy at the Center for American Progress, released the following statement today reacting to the news that the U.S. Department of Education will launch a new initiative to ensure that all schools have access to high-quality teachers:

All students—regardless of where they live or their family background—deserve access to high-quality instruction. We know that having a highly effective teacher can improve student achievement and increase lifetime earnings, and disadvantaged students who receive high-quality instruction year after year can keep pace with their more affluent peers. However, the harsh reality is that low-income students and students of color are twice as likely to be taught by teachers with the least experience or teachers who are not qualified. The Department of Education should be commended for its effort to ensure that excellent educators are teaching in the classrooms that need them most.

For more information or to speak to an expert, contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6285.

Related CAP Reports:

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)


202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Andrea Purse (women's issues)


202.741.6250 or apurse@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention, the National Security Agency)


202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (energy and environment, Legal Progress, higher education)


202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi


202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen


202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene


202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

News Source : STATEMENT: Carmel Martin on the Department of Education’s Effort to Ensure High-Quality Teachers for All Students
Copy this html code to your website/blog to embed this press release.